Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader

Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of the box tack driver
Date:November 25, 2013
The Rev
Location: Windsor, ON
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
What a great gun. Purchased this gun last year before our ml season. Right out of the box this gun was shooting cloverleafs at 100 yards using iron sights. I never did put a scope on it. Tried a few different combos and found that 90grains of Blackhorn 209 and a Barnes T-EZ were the most consistent combo. The T-EZ slide in nice since its a real tight barrel...
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST MUZZLELOADER FOR THE $$$
Date:September 21, 2013
Dusty
Location: Oxbow, SK
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
I bought this at the Grand Opening Sale for the Regina store and this was my first muzzleloader i've owned. For the money I was a little concerned as now a-days "You get what you pay for." However this saying defiantly doesn't apply here. I'm shooting under an inch at 100 yards with 100gr of Triple 7 powder and 250 gr hornady high speed, low drag sabots. The gun doesnt feel cheap, it is built amazing, the scope that comes with it is an excellent scope from Cabelas. So far no worries with it. I couldnt be happier with my purchase, and the customer service at the new store was UNBELIEVABLE, know matter how many people were in line the Cabelas staff always had time for you!!
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun /value
Date:April 16, 2013
steveswff
Gender: Male
This gun is a great shooter and great value. Well made. I liked the fiber optic sights so much I mounted see thru scope mounts. Only thing I would change is the the front swivel stud is recessed. Does not allow mounting of a bipod.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
accurate value
Date:January 27, 2013
HuntSafely
Gender: Male
Good inline design, great brand name for a relatively inexpensive gun that has strong reviews from the experts. Accurate on the range out to my range's max of 200 yards. TIght bore - so was glad to find Barnes T-EZ sabots, also from Cabelas.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Muzzleloader
Date:January 15, 2013
ozzer
Gender: Male
This is a fantastic muzzleloader, especially for the money. It's accurate, easy to load and clean, and is great fun to shoot. I recommend this to anyone wanting to hunt with a muzzleloader!
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed
Date:January 8, 2013
Tom257
Gender: Male
For the cost I was impressed with the handling and accuracy of this muzzleloader. The only probem I had is the breach release requires a lot of pressure to release if not fired. Light, well balanced and carries well. Good recoil pad. I didn't scope it but satisfied with the groups using the fiber optics... good sight picture.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely happy with the impact.
Date:September 28, 2012
MNBassAttack
Gender: Male
This is my first muzzleloader and I'm extremely happy with it. It's very light, it's easy to shoot, with the butt plate, there isn't that much kick either, and I like the design a lot for operation and cleaning. Some minor cons: when it's cold out (15 or below) or after the gun has been sitting awhile, it can be difficult to work the slide barrel release to open the breach--not a huge deal and I'm sure there is some lube I could put in there. Secondly, the sight windage adjustment on this gun is not exactly fine tuning. Rather than having minute clicks right or left, you just loosen the entire sight and slide it over to where you want it. I was able to actually sight in the gun fairly quickly by being extremely careful and deliberate when moving it, but I could see a lot of time and frustration going into that. My state only allows open sights for blackpowder deer and I wouldn't put a scope on it anyway. Plus, I like the sights on it too. I can easily and consistently hit a pop can at 100 yards--which I'm sure is fine for reaching out to 200 on a deer if I have to. Third, the ramrod is a little cheap. Again overall, I'm extremely happy with the gun.
I actually bought this gun a year ago and it knocked down a big whitetail doe at maybe 70 yards in its tracks. Tremendous power! Used 95 grains of 209 blackhorn, Federal 209A shotgun primers, and 250 grain Thompsen Center Shock Waves. Can't wait for the season to arrive again.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TC Impact
Date:September 19, 2012
Billboy
Super value. If you are looking at an inline at a very reasonable price, look no further. Inlines offer many features that are not immediately obvious to the BP shooter. Well made, thought out rifle. Trigger is excellent, better than most of my rifles at 2 -3X the price! Scope it as soon as you can. Now, if only PA would allow inlines during Flintlock season. Hmm.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
Date:September 10, 2012
iowashotgunner
Gender: Male
This is a very good weapon for the money. In fact, it is a very nice muzzy any way you get one... Do not be put off by the hood-opened action, it works just fine and locks up tightly. Put a little plug lube on it as it breaks in, and it will soon be smooth as a baby's b... The gun is light and handles well. It has a light, crisp trigger...notice the little metal lump on the back of that trigger...it acts as an over-travel screw and aids accuracy. I will not expound upon that great accuracy...there are plenty of others to do so, but it does shoot very well, consistently, using Blackhorn 209, Harvestor Black Crush-Rib Sabots, and Win. primers with 250 or 300 grain .452" pistol bullets. This is a very good choice for both seasoned veterans and new muzzy-shooters.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't let the price fool you.
Date:May 14, 2012
BloodTrails3535
Gender: Male
TC did an awesome job with this one. I'm quite plesed with this rifle. Easy to use, easy to clean, fit and finish is great and it is accurate. Brought it to the range to test it out. The load I started with was 90 gr. of BH 209, 260 gr. Scorpion and CCI 209M primers. 2 shots to dial it in and it was one ragged hole from there on out at 50 yards. Can't wait to shoot it at 100 yards, I'm sure it will do great !
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,great value..
Date:February 20, 2012
ray7710
Location: frazier park,ca
Gender: Male
Good:
1)Trigger is excellent. Be careful once you pull the hammer back. Its ready to go with a thought. Best trigger of any gun I own.
2) Super light-carry it up any hill or for hours. Lighter than most rifles.
3) Shoots straight- 2" groups are easliy possible at 100yds with peep sights, maybe more yardage possible with a scope.
4) Easy to clean- break open design with removable plug is super easy to clean-black powder is dirty, clean often.
5) All in all- great value for the money.
Minuses-
1) ramrod needs some help,sturdy, but needs threads at the end. Needs upgraded or modified rod. Easy to drill and thread end to accept "T" handle.
2) Stock sights need help. Front sight OK. Rear sight way too close to front, very easy to be off wth slight misalignment. Found "rail-peep" for Encore fits right on to factory holes. Improved groups to reasonable (with iron sights) at 100+ yds. Kill out to 100yds no prob with iron sights. If you are good with iron sights, look out.
3)Thats all I can find to complain about, thanks T/C.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the impact
Date:December 26, 2011
Rich4672
Location: Channelview, Tx
Gender: Male
I got the black power impact for Christmas from my girlfriend. I took it out and hunted Christmas Eve night and made my first kill with it. Even though it was at 10 yards and getting dark, it was great. I have never shot any black powder gun before, but I love it. I don't doubt this gun can make a good kill at over 200 plus yards. I will hunt with this gun forever. I love it. I recommend this gun to any hunter. I'm going to get another one soon, for my girlfriend to hunt with.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sharp rifle!
Date:December 17, 2011
westerncoloradohunter
Location: delta colorado
Gender: Male
very nice smokepole for the price.wish trigger guard was metal not plastic but still a bargain for a TCmuzzle loader american made and lifetime warranty.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Deal
Date:October 23, 2011
DigShootingBlPowderDell
Location: Alamance, NC.
Gender: Male
Buying the TC Impact is one the best things you can do. The Impact is a strong & easy rifle to carry. It will shoot as well as any high price inline sold today. I will be keeping this one. Sold my others after buying this one. The rifle groups well using .44 or .45 cal bullets in Crush Rid Sabo. Will do good with SST Sabo bullets. Good rifle for woods or open field deer hunting. Took my scope off and use it with open sites. Good rifle for the money.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing
Date:May 30, 2011
UltimateDeerHunter
Location: Gretna,NE
Gender: Male
The black plowder gun is one of the best ones you can buy i havent shot a deer with it because i havent been out for for the season do to family issues but ive shot it about fifty times and its a dead on accurate gun u can cant beat the price its also very easy to clean and the sights are amazing the fiber optics work the best even better than the scopes so i would recoment this gun to any one new to black powder or to someone that knows everything about black powder.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
T/C Impact
Date:December 9, 2010
Maintenance1
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Gender: Male
Guy's you cant beat this gun for the money! Barnes 250 grain Spit Fire T-EZ sabots, CCI 209 primers and 90 Grains Blackhorn 209 powder produced 50 yard 3 shot groups that could be covered with a Quarter. Thanks Thompson!
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as it gets
Date:December 5, 2010
MZL2
Location: WV
Gender: Male
Thompson Center has it right. I think this is one of the best muzzle loaders that there is for the money.
The trigger pull that is only found in high priced guns. Hundred yard groups that anyone would be happy with. Groups good with Crush Ribs 240 and 260 Scorpions as well as XTP 240 and 300. 100 grain Triple 7 FF.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Cheap Muzzle Loader
Date:November 17, 2010
Cold Winter
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
After leaving Muzzle loader hunting for 15 years (T/C Renegade) The game had changed. I was looking for a cheap inline, and A TC at this price couldnt be beat. Cabelas beat my LGS by 40 bucks after tax.
My only concern was the metal filings in the grease around the break and the action when the gun arived. After a quick disasembaly and thourough cleaning she was good to go. My only complaint would be the plastic trigger guard, and plastic strap mounts, but its a cheap gun, and thats what I was looking for.
 
My Product Recommendations
Cabela's Powderhorn Muzzleloader Scopes
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTIC
Date:October 20, 2010
DMC
Location: Headingley, MB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Great value for the price...
Shoots great with the Blackhorn 209 Powder...
I put a Leupold VXI 2-7x33 and had a fun time sighting in and shooting TC 250 grain bullets with the Sabots...
I highly recommend the TC Impact...
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the one
Date:September 23, 2010
clearanceman1
Location: WV
Gender: Male
I have an old TC Thunderhawk that I have had for decades. It kills deer, I upgraded to 209 primer conversion. It is also too long for me (I'm 5' 7") and it burns the bottom of the scope. I tried NEF handirifle muzzle loader barrel for one of my handirifles, but it hang fires with blackhorn. I bought an Omega on sale at Cabelas but it is too long for me and it was very hard to load with Barnes sabots.
Enter the Impact, it fits me, it weighs less than the Omega, it is easy to load with Barnes spitfires and it never hangs with Blackhorn 209. If you aren't using Blackhorn and your gun will shoot it, you need to change over. Anyway, killed a deer Monday for early muzzleloading season. This gun has put the Omega in the gun cabinet and the NEF. I'll still use the Thunderhawk at times for nostalgia but the Impact is the one. If you're tall, leave the spacer in. This gun is simple, light, durable, reliable, cheap and well balanced. It shoots like a center rifle rifle.
1 2 next>>