Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope

Average Customer Rating:
4.041 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
41 out of 49(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Review 1 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding value
Date:August 24, 2015
Location: Grande Pointe, MB
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle in .22-250 to use for hunting coyotes, brought it home today and got a quick zero and my first two groups at 100 yards were SUB-MOA. I could hardly believe it! first group was 0.7 inches! I am beyond impressed with savage that a rifle and scope at this price can shoot sub moa! The bolt isn't silky smooth and the trigger isn't perfect but absolutely acceptable for how much i payed. I am told the scopes can be pretty hit and miss but mine works great. I am actually considering selling my REM700 in .30-06 so i can buy another savage axis. Totally blown away by savage and I will certainly be buying more from them in the future.
Review 2 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just Buy One
Date:August 22, 2015
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Purchased this in the fall of 2014. I bought this gun as backup, or to use if it's rainy/mucky and I don't want to damage my nice rifle and also to shoot the snot out of it at the range to practice without worry about wearing out the barrel. I am really impressed with this rifle, and I am really liking it. I got it in .308 and I got this thing shooting sub-MOA with hand loaded ammo. Supplied two photos. Had a problem with the scope as it fell apart, but a quick email to Savage had it replaced right away which is awesome!! I have shot it at 200 yards and still sub-MOA. Now out of curiosity I'm going to see how far this rifle can shoot accurately. Not a heirloom rifle, very utilitarian but that's what makes it so good I carry it and use it how it was designed to be used. 4 stars because the scope failed.
Review 3 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst rifle ever
Date:August 20, 2015
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Bought this in 7mm-08 for my GF and took it to the range. It was everywhere, no grouping at all. Thought it may have been the cheap Bushnell so mounted a new Vortex on it. Took it back out and tried three different brands of ammo. Closest 4 shot group was 9" at 100 yds. It wasn't just me as I was pulling sub MOA with both my 700 and Vanguard that day.
Review 4 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the $
Date:May 26, 2015
Location: Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Labrador
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Before I say anything else and also before anyone reading this thinks well this is just a cheap piece of junk gun, for the $ you can not beat this gun. For how much you are spending, this rifle cannot be beat and no I haven't tried all budget hunting rifles on the market but I own this one in 308win and using 7.62x51mm Chinese mill- surp ammo at 100 yards I can shoot 1/2 inch group consistently I haven't gone beyond this range yet I live in a heavily wooded area so for hunting I"m pretty sure that I wont have a problem but for curiosity sake I"m going to move out to 150- 200 yards keep in mind this is not a target oriented platform and its classified as an economy rifle but I suspect it will not fail to please. In conclusion for the amount you are spending the value of this product is unsurpassed and I would highly recommend it to people who do not want to spend a full pay check on a hunting rifle.
Review 5 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
savage 30-06
Date:April 13, 2015
Location: Little Current, ON
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
I purchased this gun around 2 years ago and have been pleased with it! it shoots great, always cycles bullets nicely and never jams. the only reason I did not give the gun 5 stars was the quality of the scope, the scope is cheap and is not a real Bushnell scope. I replaced mine and I would recommend you do the same if you buy the package, but the gun is amazing! and I would recommend it to anyone.
Review 6 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Rifle
Date:February 12, 2015
Location: Bella Bella, BC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought this Savage Axis in 270 win. And it's great I changed the scope on this unit and also added a sling and bipod now it looks like a long range shooter I'm very happy with this rifle and had no problem setting up the new scope now I can't wait to take it out hunting.
Review 7 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money!! Great First Gun.
Date:December 8, 2014
Location: Borden, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
This gun is a great value for the money with the scope in 223 caliber. Bought one for my dad as he had no scoped gun and needed something for coyotes on his property. I sighted it in for him and i was shooting 1/2-1 MOA groups consistently with reloaded 50 grain V-max rounds. My dad with old eyes was shooting 1.5 inch groups.
Scope works great for this caliber, and the trigger was good for not being adjustable. Stock is not great but to get this price point, i would't expect more, and even tho plastic, the fit is great for us.
Review 8 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a deal! Amazing budget rifle!
Date:September 10, 2014
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Ok so I went to the opening of the new Cabelas in Nanaimo BC and I picked this rifle in 30-06. Took it to the range today and it amazed me for the quality and accuracy. Yes it made 1"MOA at 100 yards with my average accuracy. This rifle blew me away, as well as the deer I will come in contact with. GET THIS RIFLE. also trigger pull is around 6lbs, I'm gonna switch with a 3lb kit.
Also in below picture... Top three were grouping, made adjustments and bottom three is where she is staying. At 100 yards.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tack Driver
Date:September 10, 2014
Location: Maidstone, SK
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
This gun is light enough for packing through the bush all day. The gun is well balanced. 3 shot groups were covered by a quarter using a rest.
For a coyote gun, this is money well spent.
Review 10 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good
Date:September 7, 2014
Location: Steinbach, MB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I have 60 rounds through this, no issue with the scope or mounts. Sighting in on the range at 100m was good. I personally think as an entry level rifle its not bad. The value is there and with the rebate from savage its silly not to buy it if you're on the fence
Review 11 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service is first rate.
Date:May 6, 2014
Location: Ste Anne, MB
Age: 70 & Over
Gender: Male
Purchased my 7 mm - 08 in early December of 2013 as my Christmas gift for myself. Until I purchased a XP Camo version in .223 Remington I didn't realize how poor my scope was in image clarity. I also needed a new ball for the extractor, caused by blown primers a few times. Called the support number for Canada and received the number and address for support gunsmiths at Grech Outdoors in Mount Forest, ON. Return scope and all troubles taken care of in less than two weeks. Fantastic service and rifle shoots well once I took care of the trigger pull weight.
Review 12 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Rifle poor scope mounts
Date:March 27, 2014
Location: Yellowknife, NT
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle in .30-06 and I am pleased with the rifle but the scope mounts are very cheap and the bolt handle comes really close to hitting the scope. I put a set of weaver scope mounts on the gun, making the scope higher for the clearence and it made it more comfortable for me to shoot. The rifle is nice and light to carry for hunting as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shocked
Date:January 19, 2014
Location: Spruce Grove, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought this gun in .223 three years ago to dedicate for coyotes. First time at the range I had it zeroed in 5-7 shots. Have dropped it, had it packed full of snow, had it in pouring rain and I have not once had to re-sight it in. This gun will take abuse and once you get it shooting accurately, she's good to go.
My Only two negatives.... The mag is cheap, and as long as your paying attention it goes in no problem, however you have to watch how your clipping it in or it won't lock.
Secondly, I've had troubles cycling shells through it. If you cycle shells through without shooting they pop out fine, but once fired and get some heat in there it can get tricky.
However, for the price, this gun blew my expectations out of the water. It is by far my most reliable gun at this point.
I will be buying this gun soon in the stainless 30-06 version and have recommended it to many people since
Review 14 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great choice
Date:September 26, 2013
Location: Nipawin, SK
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
Purchased one in 243 this summer,covered first 4 shots with a loonie, minor scope adjustment, did an online trigger fix that took about 10 min, consistent in its accuracy, scope is fine for this caliber, have fired over 100 rounds, no need to adjust scope or screws.
Very happy with product. Gave it a 4,
Review 15 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Accurate but with major issues
Date:August 29, 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this gun while on a budget for a new deer rifle. The gun is fairly accurate and good enough for the distances I shoot at.
There are some big problems with the gun that would stop me from recommending it to anyone. The trigger pull is way too heavy and there is no way to fix it or change it with their accu-trigger. The scope mount also comes loose after putting a bunch of rounds through it. I've actually left a hex key in my case because I have to tighten it atleast once everytime I go to the range. Lastly, the stock is very cheap. The rifle slipped off my shoulder while ducking under some heavy brush and drop on its stock end from about 8-12 inches and the stock broke in half. I was forced to buy a new one because savage wouldn't cover the old one(my fault, fair enough) but I have no confidence in the stock now knowing it will break from a small fall and wondering how long it'll be before it breaks in half again after I pull the trigger.
Although accurate I would not recommend this due to the other issues with the gun. I would suggest spending the small amount extra and getting a gun with a decent stock and trigger or atleast upgradable to quality components later.
Review 16 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought a 308 win
Date:August 2, 2013
Location: Mattice, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
bought this last week for my wife and love it.bolt is so smooth operating and little recoil.i will change the scope though. this scope is not to be trusted so that is why I give it a 4
Review 17 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, great accuracy
Date:July 20, 2013
Location: Ponoka, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this gun in .223 . Sights were way off to start but no big deal, 10 shots later and i was bang on target every time. great accuracy every shot even out to longer distances, So good i'm getting this model in 22-50. I have a number of savage rifles and every one does not dissapoint, and the price is unbeatable too, good job savage.
Review 18 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice to shoot
Date:July 9, 2013
Location: Grunthal, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this gun in .308 and I like it. The scope is not for the experienced shooter, think about replacing it, that's why only 4 Stars. But for the money a good solid gun.
Review 19 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great rifle horrible scope
Date:June 4, 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle in .270 Win, it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a more expensive gun but it does shot accurately and has a much better feel than some other budget rifles. The scope with the XP package is terrible,. I removed it and put on a Nikon Prostaff. If you are looking for a inexpensive rifle the Axis is a fine choice, just know that you will most like want to upgrade the scope.
Review 20 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice gun easy to handle
Date:May 10, 2013
Location: Pense, SK
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I like the gun was not sighted in out of the box and after bore sighting would not hit the same spot. Needed to bore sight the gun after each shot not impressed with the scope
1 2 3 next>>