Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope

Average Customer Rating:
4.047 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
36 out of 43(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Review 1 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money!! Great First Gun.
Date:December 8, 2014
BullyV
Location: Borden, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
This gun is a great value for the money with the scope in 223 caliber. Bought one for my dad as he had no scoped gun and needed something for coyotes on his property. I sighted it in for him and i was shooting 1/2-1 MOA groups consistently with reloaded 50 grain V-max rounds. My dad with old eyes was shooting 1.5 inch groups.
Scope works great for this caliber, and the trigger was good for not being adjustable. Stock is not great but to get this price point, i would't expect more, and even tho plastic, the fit is great for us.
Review 2 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a deal! Amazing budget rifle!
Date:September 10, 2014
Broxty
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Ok so I went to the opening of the new Cabelas in Nanaimo BC and I picked this rifle in 30-06. Took it to the range today and it amazed me for the quality and accuracy. Yes it made 1"MOA at 100 yards with my average accuracy. This rifle blew me away, as well as the deer I will come in contact with. GET THIS RIFLE. also trigger pull is around 6lbs, I'm gonna switch with a 3lb kit.
Also in below picture... Top three were grouping, made adjustments and bottom three is where she is staying. At 100 yards.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tack Driver
Date:September 10, 2014
Chek
Location: Maidstone, SK
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
This gun is light enough for packing through the bush all day. The gun is well balanced. 3 shot groups were covered by a quarter using a rest.
For a coyote gun, this is money well spent.
Review 4 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good
Date:September 7, 2014
Dupey00
Location: Steinbach, MB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I have 60 rounds through this, no issue with the scope or mounts. Sighting in on the range at 100m was good. I personally think as an entry level rifle its not bad. The value is there and with the rebate from savage its silly not to buy it if you're on the fence
Review 5 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service is first rate.
Date:May 6, 2014
Tedd
Location: Ste Anne, MB
Age: 70 & Over
Gender: Male
Purchased my 7 mm - 08 in early December of 2013 as my Christmas gift for myself. Until I purchased a XP Camo version in .223 Remington I didn't realize how poor my scope was in image clarity. I also needed a new ball for the extractor, caused by blown primers a few times. Called the support number for Canada and received the number and address for support gunsmiths at Grech Outdoors in Mount Forest, ON. Return scope and all troubles taken care of in less than two weeks. Fantastic service and rifle shoots well once I took care of the trigger pull weight.
Review 6 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Rifle poor scope mounts
Date:March 27, 2014
Jeff
Location: Yellowknife, NT
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle in .30-06 and I am pleased with the rifle but the scope mounts are very cheap and the bolt handle comes really close to hitting the scope. I put a set of weaver scope mounts on the gun, making the scope higher for the clearence and it made it more comfortable for me to shoot. The rifle is nice and light to carry for hunting as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shocked
Date:January 19, 2014
LafleurC
Location: Spruce Grove, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought this gun in .223 three years ago to dedicate for coyotes. First time at the range I had it zeroed in 5-7 shots. Have dropped it, had it packed full of snow, had it in pouring rain and I have not once had to re-sight it in. This gun will take abuse and once you get it shooting accurately, she's good to go.
My Only two negatives.... The mag is cheap, and as long as your paying attention it goes in no problem, however you have to watch how your clipping it in or it won't lock.
Secondly, I've had troubles cycling shells through it. If you cycle shells through without shooting they pop out fine, but once fired and get some heat in there it can get tricky.
However, for the price, this gun blew my expectations out of the water. It is by far my most reliable gun at this point.
I will be buying this gun soon in the stainless 30-06 version and have recommended it to many people since
Review 8 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great choice
Date:September 26, 2013
Tinker
Location: Nipawin, SK
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
Purchased one in 243 this summer,covered first 4 shots with a loonie, minor scope adjustment, did an online trigger fix that took about 10 min, consistent in its accuracy, scope is fine for this caliber, have fired over 100 rounds, no need to adjust scope or screws.
Very happy with product. Gave it a 4,
Review 9 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Accurate but with major issues
Date:August 29, 2013
Nishin
Location: Ottawa, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this gun while on a budget for a new deer rifle. The gun is fairly accurate and good enough for the distances I shoot at.
There are some big problems with the gun that would stop me from recommending it to anyone. The trigger pull is way too heavy and there is no way to fix it or change it with their accu-trigger. The scope mount also comes loose after putting a bunch of rounds through it. I've actually left a hex key in my case because I have to tighten it atleast once everytime I go to the range. Lastly, the stock is very cheap. The rifle slipped off my shoulder while ducking under some heavy brush and drop on its stock end from about 8-12 inches and the stock broke in half. I was forced to buy a new one because savage wouldn't cover the old one(my fault, fair enough) but I have no confidence in the stock now knowing it will break from a small fall and wondering how long it'll be before it breaks in half again after I pull the trigger.
Although accurate I would not recommend this due to the other issues with the gun. I would suggest spending the small amount extra and getting a gun with a decent stock and trigger or atleast upgradable to quality components later.
Review 10 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought a 308 win
Date:August 2, 2013
migbou80
Location: Mattice, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
bought this last week for my wife and love it.bolt is so smooth operating and little recoil.i will change the scope though. this scope is not to be trusted so that is why I give it a 4
Review 11 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, great accuracy
Date:July 20, 2013
grim
Location: Ponoka, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this gun in .223 . Sights were way off to start but no big deal, 10 shots later and i was bang on target every time. great accuracy every shot even out to longer distances, So good i'm getting this model in 22-50. I have a number of savage rifles and every one does not dissapoint, and the price is unbeatable too, good job savage.
Review 12 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice to shoot
Date:July 9, 2013
Marowilu
Location: Grunthal, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this gun in .308 and I like it. The scope is not for the experienced shooter, think about replacing it, that's why only 4 Stars. But for the money a good solid gun.
Review 13 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great rifle horrible scope
Date:June 4, 2013
harris
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle in .270 Win, it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a more expensive gun but it does shot accurately and has a much better feel than some other budget rifles. The scope with the XP package is terrible,. I removed it and put on a Nikon Prostaff. If you are looking for a inexpensive rifle the Axis is a fine choice, just know that you will most like want to upgrade the scope.
Review 14 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice gun easy to handle
Date:May 10, 2013
connie
Location: Pense, SK
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I like the gun was not sighted in out of the box and after bore sighting would not hit the same spot. Needed to bore sight the gun after each shot not impressed with the scope
Review 15 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressed with caliber
Date:April 12, 2013
Rock
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Must say this model is great price and does the job very well, 7mm-08 was purchased and I say shoots with great accusary, for the price can't go wrong great caliber for a younger hunter as well . Gave 4 out 5 stars for the clip it's plastic hope it can with stand cooler weather hoping to get a spare soon.
Review 16 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Scopes are complete JUNK
Date:March 13, 2013
Big Meat
Location: Creston, NL
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Had an axis xp in 22-250 and fired about 25 rounds until the cross hairs dropped off. Thought it may have been my fault for dropping the gun. But when i bought the 30-06 and went to the range the 4th shot done the same thing, cross hairs dropped and went very blurry. Guns work flawless but scopes are complete JUNK. I would not recommend these to anyone until they start using better scopes.
Review 17 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great gun and price
Date:January 10, 2013
nEw2gunz
Location: Grunthal, MB
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
bought it in 270 for my first rifle. I dont know much about rifles but the bolt seems good to me iv only shot 15 rounds but i love it. Trigger does seem stiff but not bad.
Scope was way off though. its barely hitting paper at roughly 50 yards but didnt expect it to be bang on right out of the box. and I was told it was a very cheap scope by the salesman and it seems cheaper definitely not using it for long sniping shots but itll get the job done for some first time hunting trips
only giving 4 out of 5 cuz its my first gun dont know what to compare it to and it says its boresighted but its very far out
Review 18 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best rifle in its price range
Date:January 3, 2013
s1de8urnz
Location: Regina, SK
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
First off, throw away that scope it came with. Its the cheapest scope on the market and has a terrible track record. Go buy a bushnell banner, or some other low end scope if your trying to keep it cheap. But i recomend you use a bit of that cash you saved, and buy a decent scope.
Its the base model rifle, standard trigger, standard stock. No fancy bells or whistles. A reliable magazine, good bolt, and light weight. You wont find a rifle as accurate and reliable at this price range. Savage makes great guns and are very compeditively priced.
A perfect spare rifle, or beginers gun. Its 400$ and a great gun at that price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little rifle
Date:December 7, 2012
Clowater13
Location: Wandering River, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought one of these rifles in 243 just over a year ago. Out of the box, the trigger pull was a bit stiff. I tweaked it a bit and got it lightened up. Now it works great. (less than 1" group at 100 yards) Filled all of my deer tags with it. The scope might not be top of the line, but it works just fine. Dropped a 250 lb whitetail at 365 yards. Nothing wrong with that kind of performance.
Review 20 for Savage Axis XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap gun, easy to fix trigger pull
Date:December 6, 2012
Mark O
Location: Shoal Lake, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
When I first bought my axis same thing, scope mounts came loose, bore sighting wasn't even on paper, and last heavy trigger pull, solution is to cut a 1 1/2 or 1 1/4 of coil of the trigger spring, I also had a gunsmith clean up the trigger assembly with a bit of polishing on the contact points, went from 8lbs pull to around 3.5.. This gun is more enjoyable to shoot now, and shoots bang on
1 2 3 next>>