Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge

Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Review 1 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works!
Date:February 24, 2013
NEHunter402
Downed more birds at longer distances. No cripples with these, just dont shoot 'em too close cause there wont be much left to eat.
Review 2 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome!
Date:February 24, 2013
OutdoorsBen
Gender: Male
These are AWESOME! They kick like a mule in my SxS and if you don't open up the choke a bit you'll DESTROY a close range bird. Once you get the hang of them they are awesome.
Review 3 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great purchase
Date:December 11, 2012
peymag
Gender: Male
Have not shot these but they were just what I was looking for.
Review 4 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome
Date:December 11, 2012
gil21
Gender: Male
I've shot 12 ga #5's 2 3/4" for two seasons in South Dakota. This stuff knocks them down. Even birds I didn't hit solid were dead. I think #4's would almost be too much. I am tempted to bring a box of 6's for calm days.
Review 5 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Shells
Date:December 6, 2012
arleychart
Gender: Male
I used the #5 shot on pheasants, these worked great on the longer shots. Highly recommended.
Review 6 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tough on Birds
Date:November 28, 2012
MTGriz
Gender: Male
First of all, these shells work as advertised. Hard hitting and few runners. The birds fall dead. However, they tear up the birds. When cleaning the birds at the end of the hunt we could tell which ones had been shot with Prairie Storm as they were shot up badly. I switched back to a more conventional premium shell. I will use these for late season when the roosters flush further out. I do not recommend these shells for early season. Furthermore, they cycled in my shotgun very well.
Review 7 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good load for Pheasant
Date:November 27, 2012
DuckHunter4
Gender: Male
Good knock down load for Pheasant once you adjust your lead for the 1500 FPS muzzle velocity
Review 8 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good shells
Date:November 26, 2012
506k
Gender: Male
I have never been a fan of the standard brands of upland shells but I tried these year and am very happy with them. The only draw back is they cost as much as the high end manufactures.
Review 9 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prarie storm 12 and 20 3inchers
Date:November 20, 2012
SargGeorge
Gender: Male
Wow, first time I have used these shells, One shot at 35-40 yards, Prarie storm 3 inch and the pheasant goes down !!! Using IC chokes in both barrels of my beretta onyx 12. downed 9 birds in 12 shots ! The following day I switched over to my 20 guage Urika and shot Prarie storm 3 inch same results at 30 yards. Good stuff !! use it you wont be sorry or wasting your $$
Review 10 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Nice Shot
Date:October 31, 2012
Anonymous
Gender: Male
Shot this out of my 20 ga in North Dakota for Pheasant. Brought both this and Fiocchi Golden Pheasant to see which I preferred. This product was stoning birds compared to the Fiocchi. Pricey but absolutely worth it for big trips where you'll only shoot a box or two.
Review 11 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One shot and drop
Date:October 16, 2012
drivingatruck
Gender: Male
I used these in my Super 90 with great results. The pheasants folded in the air and dropped. I used 12 gauge #5 shot. Did hit some quail as well, a little rough on them. Close range shots are brutal, long shots are real possible.
Shoot a few clays prior to hitting the field so you know what to expect.
20 gauge #6 worked well also. They do kick in the O/U.
Review 12 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great in the Field
Date:June 21, 2012
JustinND
Gender: Male
I used the 3" #4 shells out of my remington 870 up in North Dakota. I used a full choke because it was later in the season and we were expecting the birds to get up a little wild and with it being later in the season the birds had thick feathers. The first day that was what happened. My closes shot was 30 yards. I wounded one bird that day. I dropped a leg so that tells me I hit him back. Not the ammos fault. With the help of the dogs we found it, kicked it back up and shot it again. It was dead that time. When I hit the birds at 30 yard they went down really hard and didn't move. The wife shot her first limit of birds that day useing a 20 guage. She was also using 3" #4 and a full choke. Those birds dropped just like the bird I shot. No difference in performance between a 12 and 20 gauge.
The next day one of the land owners found out the wife and I are in the Air Force and I had just returned from Afghanistan. He invited us to hunt his land that he doesn't open up anyone outside his family. Lets just say I wished I would have brought a modified choke for this day. We had to let the birds fly for a while otherwise we would have blew them up. I shot several birds that day within 25 yards and man they were not moving. I shot one bird that day at 55 yards because my dad who was not using this ammo hit one and it was still flying so I thought what the heck. I folded him up like he was 30 yards away. I am very happy with how this ammo performed and will be using it in the future.
Review 13 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect patterns
Date:June 3, 2012
usmcmk
Gender: Male
I just recently patterned this ammo at long range on a standard 100 yard target at 200ft or 66 yards and there was a perfect distance between each pellet, the picture looked exactly like it did on the box. I was using the 3" 1 5/8 oz. browning extended light modified invector plus to let the flight control do its job, using a Browning BPS 12 gauge.
Review 14 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard Hitting!
Date:March 2, 2012
Bm5447
Location: Northfield, OH
Gender: Male
I bought these as my second shot to use in my 20g side by side in 3 in. I was very impressed with the range and knockdown power these had. Birds dropped hard. Tried to use this shell as a first shot on a pheasant hunting over a pointing dog and pretty much blew the bird apart, and this was a 20g shell. I only use as a second back up shot as they pattern tight, hit hard and reach out and touch far off birds.
Highly recommend for birds that are far out or for a second shot. Will definitely be using these on every pheasant hunt.
Review 15 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing product
Date:February 26, 2012
MisterT
Location: Loveland, CO
Gender: Male
After all the hype with these new loads what a let down. I shot one box and had such horrible results I abandoned them altogether. Using an improved cylinder choke like they advertise I blew birds apart at close range or totally missed them. They had cycling problems in my Browning semiauto at times. Never experienced this with any other shells ever. They also pack a wallop of a kick with the 1500fps claim. While I did make one miracle shot at long range the majority of birds are not shot at distances of 50 yards. Won't ever buy again or recommend them to anyone.
Review 16 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Shells, Probably not worth the extra $$
Date:February 26, 2012
DuckPerry
Location: Kansas City, MO
Gender: Male
Was very excited about these new Prairie Storm upland shells by Federal. Federal has always been my favorite shotshell maker. They do one thing (make ammunition) and they do it very very well. Anyway, I have gone through about 3 boxes, a mix of 12 and 20ga, so far this season. I agree with some of the other reviews. "Mangle the bird at close range". However, I "have not seen a significant range improvement". I think Federal's 'Pheasants Forever' loads that are Copper Plate Lead and 1500 FPS just are as good. OH..and yes..MAN do these PS shells KICK! I do not recommend a light weight 12/20 Gauge Pump or O/U, They will 'rap' you.
Review 17 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best long range pheasant load
Date:November 28, 2011
ArmyRanger11
Location: Manhattan, Kansas
Gender: Male
I always used the Federal Premium shells of the same payload and velocity, but without the flight stopper pellets. I gave this stuff a try and have since switched to shooting Prairie Storm for all my pheasant hunting. This load has patterned amazing in the 3 Benelli's and 1 Franchi I shoot. I found that it works best with open chokes, IC in the Crio + and LM in the 20ga. It patterns better than the various high density tungsten shells I've tested. The down side is the recoil, which is borderline brutal. Pattern it without a lead sled and you'll regret it. It's worth the pounding for the patterns and deadliness on birds. With an IC in my 12ga's at 40 yds the pattern will saturate a pheasant. I can’t say that it kills all that much better, but I do know my dogs aren’t chasing running pheasants all over KS when I hit them. It’s a trade off, their expensive and kick like a mule, but thus far are unmatched for pattern density, just check your chokes, this stuff seems to pattern very tight.
Review 18 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overkill at short range with lots of recoil
Date:November 20, 2011
Doug6136
I tried a box of #6s on preserve pheasants. What a mistake! At close range, the one bird was basically gutted with much of the breast taken with it. I also did not find that they were particularly good at longer distances, either. Serves me right for not patterning them beforehand, I suppose. Also, in an over and under they kick hard. I had a recoil-induced headache the rest of the day from shooting half a box of these. Never again - I am going back to my standard game loads.
Review 19 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reliable ammo
Date:September 16, 2011
Hawkeye94
Location: Illinois
Gender: Male
I used this ammo with the Carlson Prairie Storm choke tubes. Excellent clean, accurate, knockdown power at long range. I will definitely purchase again
Review 20 for Federal Premium Prairie Storm FS Lead Shotshells - 20 Gauge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maybe hit too hard
Date:July 13, 2011
bing61
Location: MI Thumb
Gender: Male
I bought a box for pheasant hunting here in MI (winter preserve birds). I took seven pheasants with them, all devastating. No runners with these shells. I took two too soon and caused excessive damage. I have no complaints, except that I need to learn I have more time to shoot.
1 2 next>>