Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle

Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Review 1 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some just feel right....
Date:April 9, 2014
ZedZed
Location: Sanford, MB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Bought this chambered in .25-06 primarily for whitetail hunting and love it. I rarely like the look of synthetic stocks but Weatherby pulled this one off....all the pros of a synthetic stock without having that cheap Fisher Price look.
I put a decent Nikon scope on the gun and after Cabelas staff bore-sighted it for me, I got it zeroed in on targets with only 3 shots. Both seasons since getting it have started with 2 shots that remain dead on targets at 150yds. Added a decent sling and an ammo belt.
Love hunting with it and always looking for more reasons to shoot it.
Review 2 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best gun I've ever owned.
Date:December 28, 2013
Zach
Location: Williams Lake, BC
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I got a weatherby Vanguard series 2 in a .270 cal for a birthday present last year. I've already taken a massive 4x5 buck with a drop tine with this firearm. As soon as I took it out've the box it was hitting paper and only took about 5 shots to sight it in. At 300 yards I hit a small metal gong 4/5 times. I suggest the vortex diamond back scope with this gun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Rifle
Date:December 4, 2013
ty
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
i bought this rifle in a .243 and I tell you it is unbelievable. the rifle itself is deadly accurate. also the bolt is really smooth and not noisy like remington 783 my brother just bought his bolt squeks and the whole gun is hollow like a savage axis/ if you want quality get this rifle i have the series 1 in a .257 wby and i dropped 2 deer with it and dropped a yote and blew a 3 inch diamater hole in the yote. I recommend getting a ,257 caliber it is a deadly all arond cartridge
Review 4 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good 223
Date:August 24, 2013
Anonymous
Location: Bruce, AB
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
this is a good gun put a vortex viper 3.5-10x50 and it will shoot 0.75 inch groups at 100 yards on average the action is good and the gun has a good feel to it. let me start on the bad the gun is very picky with ammo 55 gr and 50 gr is best dont shoot nothing lighter it shoots 64 gr not bad but not nearly as good as 55 gr and i tried some 75 gr match ammo and it is terrible and also make sure you clean and lube this gun 100% properly or the casing will get stuck
Review 5 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Rifle!
Date:June 14, 2013
Frisco06
Gender: Male
I can't imagine a better rifle for the money. I have had zero problems with my .257 Weatherby Mag and absolutely love it. Whoever can't drive tacks with this baby should hang up their guns. The .257 WBY Mag is like shooting a laser beam. I have the rifle zeroed at 200 yards with 100 gr spire points but have taken game ranging from a 350 lb boar at 25 yards to a blackbuck antelope that I drilled through the eye at 608 yards without changing a thing on my scope. I just held a touch high and dropped the antelope. I have even taken elk at 200 yards with the 100 gr spire points. How can you not love 3602 fps muzzle velocity with a 100 gr bullet?? I have also bought this model in .30-06 so my son can shoot the reduced recoil 125 gr cartridges and am buying the .22-250 for varmint hunting next.
Review 6 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great rifle
Date:April 23, 2013
buck156
Gender: Male
I purchased the weatherby vanguard s2 chambered in .243. I had read a lot of reviews on how accurate this rifle is and decided to buy it. I put a leupold vx3-Low mount scope on it and went to sight it in. At this price I expected reasonable accuracy not great. I bought several factory loads in different weights and different bullets to see what shot best. the worst group was a 1.5 inch 5 shot group and the best was a .480 5 shot group with factory 85 grain ammo. these groups were with 10 minutes between shots with bolt open to allow to cool barrel to same temps for each shot. with consecutive strings of fire and a hot barrel groups opened up to right at 1.7 inches average group. I took the rifle with me to the farm a few weeks ago to see how it does long range and was amazed. I was consistantly hitting water bottles the size of a ground hog at 400 yards. this rifle is now one of my favorite and I have quite a few.
Review 7 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vanguard 2
Date:December 28, 2012
BUK300
Gender: Male
I took my Vanguad 2 300 WBY. to the range right after my purchase and broke in the barrel by firing and cleaning after each shot for 12 rounds, the first 3 shot group with Weatherby factory 165 gr. TSX you could cover with a dime, harvested a deer this year what more could you ask for.
Review 8 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tack driver
Date:December 17, 2012
Escotta
Gender: Male
This is the first item I think I have ever reviewed but was so impressed I had to leave my opinion. First of all the complete purchase experience was first rate. I started out looking for a new scope. The Cabela's associate was fantastic. After looking at a few choices he told me about a door buster deal that was on it's last day. A Zeiss Conquest 3x9x40 in matte finish on sale for 1/2 price. I had originally wanted a higher magnification but after discussing my hunting preferences he suggested we go outside and try out the 9 power. After ranging items past 550 yards and still not needing anything higher than the 9 power, I was sold. Not to mention the clarity of the Zeiss. Had this associate not gone above and beyond to make sure I was experiencing the real life features on the Zeiss I might have chosen something else that I would not be happy with.
But this review is about the Weatherby. Not sure if the reviewer that gave it 1 star read the guarantee was with premium ammo or not but I beg to differ. First I bought the S2 in 300 Win Mag for a Wyoming elk hunt next year. I have other calibers that would take down an elk but wanted the extra umpf of the 300. I have to say this purchase which was a week later than the scope was just as nice. Took the rifle home and mounted the Zeiss with some Warne HD mounts( a great choice). Then had to wait nearly a week to get to the range with a buddy to sight it in. Let the range master bore sight it and he put two shots on paper at 50 yards. I took it to the 100 yard mark and my 4th round found center of the bulls eye. I fired off two more rounds and forget 1" moa, you could cover the last three shots with a dime. My cartridge selection was Federal Premium 180 grain Barnes Triple Shock bullet. This my second Vanguard. The first being a wood stock beauty in 25-06. I am sold on Weatherby and the Cabelas in Allen, TX!
Review 9 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Rifle
Date:December 2, 2012
Frank827
Bought this rifle in 308 Winchester and took it to the range today to sight it in with a Leapold VX1, 3x9x40 scope. It is definitely a MOA rifle. 3/4 inch groups at 100 yards with Remington 150 grain Core Lokt softpoints.
Review 10 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value, excellent rifle
Date:November 30, 2012
GWN
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
This is one of the best rifles I have ever had, excellent quality, very good trigger and one of if not the best synthetic stock I have ever held.
I have one in 257 Weatherby that is giving me consistent sub-MOA performance with hand loads
I am in the process of getting a second one in 300 Winchester for the big boys.
This is the best value I have ever seen given the quality at this price, I'll be adding a few more to my collection
Review 11 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!
Date:November 21, 2012
Ronbo54
I bought the Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 in .270. It is my first hunting rifle, and I am thrilled with how well it shoots. After sighting in the scope, I have been able to shoot 3 shot groups at 100yds that measure LESS than 1 inch. Not just once, but consistently. I would recommend this rifle to anyone looking for the best bang for the buck (pun intended!).
Review 12 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome shooter!!!!
Date:November 6, 2012
drshooter
Gender: Male
I mounted my scope and bore sighted it and headed to the range with some hand loads that shoot well in my Mark V in 257 WBY. mag. Set up my target at 100 yards hoping to at least be on paper with the first shot.
Set the rifle in the led sled, lined her up and fired the first round. My eyes aren't what they used to be and with no spotting scope I looked through the 9x rifle scope for a hole. Thought I saw something about six inches high and four inches left. Fired another shot, looked through the scope again, only saw the same spot. Fired again, looked, same spot. Figured I had to move the target back to 50 yards and spend a lot of time at the range that day.
I walked down to the target and I couldn't believe what I saw. That spot was one ragged hole where three bullets has passed through!
Went back to the bench made some adjustments and can now shoot dime sized groups all day long.
Now the Mark V stays in the safe and the Vanguard 2 goes hunting with me in all kinds of weather.
Could't ask for a better shooting rifle.
Review 13 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price!
Date:November 1, 2012
ReichArms
Gender: Male
For a low cost rifle this is an awesome buy! They are very accurate with a well made Howa barrel and action. Also can buy many aftermarket stock options and drop out 10 rounds magazines in some calibers now.
Review 14 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun
Date:October 28, 2012
Mike4596
Location: Medstead, SK
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
bought in a .270 win, this gun is very nice a little heavy though. Shot 1 bear and 1 deer each one shot, dropped where they stood. The bolt is perfect and easy to use. You get the weatherby quality for a low price and they put a great stock on it easy to handle.
Review 15 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very accurate
Date:October 27, 2012
Ikeepem
Gender: Male
I bought the S2 in the Stainless 30-06 for wet weather hunting in the NW. Having the Win Model 70 7 Mag, Browning X-Bolt 25-06, Marlin 30-30 and an M1a, this is the most accurate and easy to scope and zero in rifle I own. Set her on sandbags, popped the bolt out. looked down the barrel at 25 yds zeroed my Zeiss Conquest 4.5x14x44, 3 shots all touching within the center, moved out to 100, 3 shots, came down 8 clicks and 4 right, 3 more, all three at < .25" just barely touching the top outside center circle, less then 1/2 box of Core-Lokt 150 gr ..Good enough for me!!
.Not being into synthetic stocks, this one is shaped very nicely and feels good in the hands, the trigger is amazing factory set... think I'll grab another chambered for one of the Weatherby Mag rounds to see what all the fuss is about but I'm not too excited about the cost of Weatherby rounds, ridiculous if you ask me but these guns are shooters!!
Review 16 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb gun
Date:October 21, 2012
coyote64
Gender: Male
i recently purchased a vanguard 2 in 257 weatherby mag. absolutly, positivly superb. very very accurate. im so impressed i intend to aquire another in 300win mag next week.
i have other guns that i like very much. but this new generation vanguard is simply great. cannot say enough good things about this rifle.
Review 17 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst rifle I've ever owned
Date:October 2, 2012
Marts1
Just received my new Vanguard II rifle in 7mm-08 remington. Mounted a Leopold VXII scope, and did the break in. Buile quality is about a B+-C- compared to other entery level rifles, but the accuracy is horrible. Three shot groups range from 3"-4" at best. Of all the rifles I''ve onwed, I've never seen one shoot this consistently poorly. Weatherby said to try Federal ammo instead of the Remington corelokts I shot, but I'm inclined to sell the gun and cut my losses, rather than throw good money after bad on another box of shells.
First and last Weatherby product I'll ever buy.
Review 18 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy :)
Date:August 28, 2012
shawnster
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Purchased mine in 243 , topped off with a Nikon Prostaff 4-12x40 , several handloads , and headed for the range. This rifle operates very smoothly , feeding flawless , the trigger is great right from the box , at 200meters , this rifle will deliver 1" or better ! Awesome deal , considering the pricetag :) my next one will be in 308 . In this caliber , there is very little recoil felt. Also the stock is very comfortable , much better than most synthetics , nice 3 way safety features . an overall very satisfied customer , highly recommended rifle .
Review 19 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
S2 in 30-06
Date:June 12, 2012
boredhunter
Gender: Male
AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME! SMOA with shelf ammo i have 5 shot groups of federal fusion under an inch! had a minor problem with stock and weatherby sent me a new one, no hassle. BEST production rifle made!!!
Review 20 for Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 Synthetic Bolt Action Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT VALUE - GREAT RIFLE
Date:April 29, 2012
signcutter
Location: Parksville, BC
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
I purchased a Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 in a .300 Win. Mag.. I don't know what they used for ammo in their tests; but; I wasn't successful with my groups. I handloaded some Sierra 180gr spitzer BT to a velocity of 2900 FPS. This load gave me a 1/2" - 5/8" group at 100 yds. PERFECT!!! for hunting. The rifle performed exceptionally well. The loading and ejecting was smooth and precise. The recoil is easily handled with the butt pad and the drop at the comb. The 3 position safety is a bonus feature. The balance and feel of the rifle is excellent. I'm very happy that I purchased this rifle. I plan on getting another one in a .308 soon.
1 2 next>>