Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Review 1 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall good value
Date:September 27, 2014
jevan23
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Purchased in 223 a month ago, ran about 100 rounds through it so far. After getting the kinks worked out I have it shooting sub MOA with factory ammo.
Pros: The accutrigger is awesome, clean and crisp.
I was impressed with the weaver KASPA scope that came with the trophy hunter. I did the box test, 80 clicks up, 80 clicks left, 80 clicks down and 80 clicks right. The last shot was about 1/2 inch from the first shot of the box test. The only downside to the scope is the reticle lines are a bit thick, they'll cover a 1/2 inch target at 100 yards.
Cons: The synthetic stock is garbage. So flimsy with a bipod that it touches the barrel when shooting and made it impossible to shoot under 2 MOA. Swapping out to an aftermarket stock is also an issue because other model 11's have a metal bottom plate for attaching the magazine to.On the trophy hunter that part is molded into the stock so you have to order a metal plate straight from savage (and they're not cheap). Another option is to remove the action from the stock, wrap sandpaper around a pipe and sand down the stock around the barrel area. After sanding my stock down i was able to get sub-MOA.
The magazine doesnt give a very confident 'click' when attaching to the rifle, and may need some adjusting done on the metal lips as the bolt doesnt always catch the last round in the magazine.
Overall the things that are an issue with this rifle are pretty minor, and most can be fixed fairly easily. Cant beat the price for an accurate rifle complete with scope!
Review 2 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
new deer gun
Date:July 29, 2014
kel
Location: Lord's Cove, NB
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
I got my new 11/111 in june just had time to go out and test fire it. It is in 7mm- 08 cal. this is not a gun you will find in every camp. But I had to get a new gun for my wife hope this is the cats meow It is a nice gun love it. Savage way to go love it.
Review 3 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great shooter!
Date:May 4, 2014
Dusty
Location: Oxbow, SK
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased this rifle in 223 rem knowing Savages reputation for accuracy. I loaded up some 50gr V-max with Hodgon Benchmark powder and went to the range. After sighting it in with American Eagle FMJ ammo I tried the first batch I had it shooting nickel size groups at 100 yards. Cant complain! The scope is ok for a 223, wouldn't want it on a bigger cal like 300 or 7mm. Overall great gun for the money!
** IGNORE TOP 3 ROUNDS, THEY WERE SHOT BEFORE THE 5 SHOT GROUP WITH FMJ AMMO**
Review 4 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rifle
Date:March 15, 2014
Saskhunter
Location: Regina, SK
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
Bought this in a 7mm rem mag. I like it so far it shoots great. bolt moves nice and magazine pops in and out nicely. the weaver scope is fairly impressive for a package gun, it is clear and has bdc reticle which is nice good in low light and eye relief is good. way better then the bushnells that come on lower quality models you could definitely leave the scope on the gun but I plan on buying something bigger and putting it on my .223 no complaints
Review 5 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good value for a capable rifle
Date:September 22, 2013
Anonomoose
Location: Sandringham, NL
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I have the 7mm rem mag.
-took a black bear easily at ~450 m, was surprised by how little wind drift you get with this caliber
-Depending on your level of marksmanship, how often you shoot and the distance you shoot, you may want to invest in a higher quality scope. This one can hit a gallon bucket at 600 meters with the scope that's included though if you are up for it.
-If you tend to rest your rifle on your backpack in the prone position, be careful of the detachable magazine, it may drop out if the release button hooks on something. I'd recommend a bi-pod if you like to use a rest.
-I find that I need to be very careful loading and inserting the mag properly.
-Get to know your rifle, buy quality ammunition, treat your scope nice, and practice; it matters :)
Review 6 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good overall
Date:April 30, 2013
odin
Location: St Paul, AB
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
very accurate rifle in 270wsm, make sure you purchase a spare clip with the gun, as it will fall out if not properly snapped in.
Review 7 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the dollar
Date:January 1, 2013
Coyote
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Both me and a friend recently purchased this gun in a 22-250, shoots great, boresighted was off but had re-done we took his apart to adjust trigger seems to work good and i would buy this gun in any caliber for the price you cant beat it. As far as the scope its decent for a 3-9.
Review 8 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rifle
Date:October 6, 2012
JAMES
Location: Gillam, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
i bought my wife this rifle, we test fired it & hit the target on all 12 shots, great accuracy, good scope, not to heavy, less recoil on the .308 cal, great trigger system, but one thing i dont like on the rifle is the magazine clip. i prefer the built in system like my savage model 11G which is one of the original savage accutriggers. but i do recommend you buy this rifle or test fire it from a friend if they own one.
Review 9 for Savage 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a sweet gun!
Date:April 18, 2012
Badger
Location: St Thomas, ON
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Great rifle. I bought this gun in .30-06, and it truly is dead accurate right out of the box. The accu-trigger is amazing, and if you are debating between this gun package or the the hunter xp...spend the extra few dollars and upgrade to this package. The upgraded Weaver scope and accu-trigger are well worth it. Recoil is minimal, and bolt is smooth and ejects well. I have not hunted with this gun yet, but anticipate nothing but success if i do my part. So far a great rifle/scope package..and very good bang for the buck. Two badger paws way up.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.