Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest

Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
24 out of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Review 1 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Arrow rest
Date:April 17, 2013
travelinhunter
Gender: Male
Easy to set up. Easy to use. Deadly accurate. I have this rest on two bows now.
Review 2 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Drop Away
Date:December 18, 2012
Drtybrd
Gender: Male
This is a very nice rest. I only have about 300 arrows through it so far, but after getting it adjusted for center shot, I haven't had to touch it.
Arrows load quickly and very quietly. The coating on the containment bars makes loading arrows almost silent. The felt coating on the rest is completely silent when drawing Easton FMJ's, and the action on release is very smooth and quiet.
The full containment is awesome. As long as my bow is something more vertical than completely horizontal, it will grab the arrow and load it, and you have to turn the bow completely upside down to get the arrow to fall out the top. When they say "Full Containment" they mean it!
Review 3 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comes with some issues
Date:August 1, 2012
TrophyHNTR
I've had this rest on my bow for a couple of deer seasons now and would have to rate it average at best. My biggest issue is with the rope attached to the cable. If you like to practice, like every bow hunter should, then the rope will tend to wear and fray where it rubs on the slot it's passing through. This slotted piece of metal acts as a back stop for the rest itself when the bow is drawn, so its necessary. If you look at the "Smack Down" from Trophy Taker, they've moved the rope to the side of the rest closest to the riser and it doesn't pass through this slotted piece of metal. I think they did this for the exact reason that I've had trouble with the model under review. Otherwise, its the exact same rest. I've had to replace the frayed rope 3-4 times in two seasons which is ridiculous. Recently, I cut out the bottom portion of this slotted piece of metal so that the rope can move without rubbing on anything, but the top portion remains which still provides the required back stop for the arm.
The rubber bumper that sits on the shelf has also become very sticky due to the different weather conditions my bow sees. On the first draw of any given day, the rest arm will stick when the bow is drawn, and when it finally breaks free of the bumper it projects the arrow up into the air sometimes popping it right out of containment. So don't forget to check this before trying to draw on that once in a lifetime buck standing at 15 yards!
I will say that the rest is very quiet, which is what attracted me to it in the first place.
If you can get over the maintenance required with this rest, then I'd say go for it. Otherwise, if you want something that requires less effort, I'd go with the "Smack Down".
Review 4 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best rest ive ever owned
Date:September 2, 2010
paullyboy
Location: Oak Harbor
Gender: Male
i love this rest. i am a poor archer at best, and this rest has helped improve my accuracy while also being dead silent. i didnt think i would notice a huge difference, but my bow shoots faster and quieter while shooting killer groupings at 30-50 yards. i would definately suggest this rest...tie the rest string into the bus cable, the cable clamp is untrusworthy and sketchy at best, but overall a well designed and tough arrow rest.
Review 5 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get rid of that biscuit
Date:August 27, 2010
HeartBreak3R
Location: Central IL
Gender: Male
I got rid of my whisker biscuit and put this on my bow and it's amazing. Before I was only good out to 40 yards and now with this rest I'm shooting good out to 60 yards.
Review 6 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great rest
Date:July 2, 2010
dropzone1965
Location: kentucky
Gender: Male
This is a very good rest. I got mine yesterday and installed today after 5 shots it was shooting bullet holes. the containment is great I turned the bow almost up-side-down and the arrow stayed put. I don't have the arrow holder on the bow and with the arrow setting to the side it still loaded like it was supposed to. It is a very well built rest and I would recommend it to anybody that ask. A lifetime warranty is a plus even though I don't think it will be needed.
Review 7 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trophy Taker Xtreme Full Containment Top Slot Arro
Date:April 25, 2010
ChrisSeb53
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Good rest... my only complaint it the noise... the rest slaps the shelf it sits on upon release creating a somewhat dull metallic sound.. other than that its a good, accurate rest
Review 8 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than the QAD Ultra Pro HD
Date:March 27, 2010
Bigrbart
Location: Washington state
I just replaced my QAD Ultra Pro HD after seeing marks on my 2" Blazers being shot out of my Mathews Reezen with Easton ACCs. The tall forks on the QAD rests will sometimes come in contact with the fletching on faster bows. My archery pro highly recommended the Trophy Taker Xtreme Full Containment Top Slot Arrow Rest and after 2 weeks of lots of shooting, I couldn't be happier with the Trophy Taker Xtreme FC Top Slot rest. This rest comes with Trophy Taker's Lifetime warranty, what more could you ask for with a top quality arrow rest?
Review 9 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fall away rest
Date:August 10, 2009
claybustersportingclays
Location: Henderson, Texas
This is an amazing product, I love it. The fall away rest has improved my groups more than any other thing i've ever done
I can now shoot groups at 50 yards that are as good or better than I used to shoot at 30 yards.
Review 10 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweet rest
Date:June 16, 2009
ohioturkeyhunter
Location: columbus,OH
this is the best rest that i have ever put on my bow. i put it on today and it increased the speed of my bow by alot, the fletching never touches the rest even when i am useing blazers vanes. it is the best rest that you can buy
Review 11 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Rest
Date:May 21, 2009
BondedBearclaw
Location: Lewiston, Id
I recently purchased this Trophy Taker rest for my Hoyt AM32 after what seemed like an endless quest for a quality constructed, full containment, all metal, and very quiet rest. I researched everything from Cabela's as well as other vendors and I finally made my decision on this rest from Cabela's. This quest of mine took me to the point of watching slow motion video on this rest as well as many others. This rest not only drops in a micro-second after the release, but the Blazer vanes will completely clear the rest for excellent accuracy! Before purchasing this rest, I had never utilized a drop away rest and due to my old school habits I was very reluctant to switch over. I was even more apprehensive because of the price, but I can honestly say that I am very happy I made the decision to purchase the Trophy Taker. If your in the market for a quality drop away rest I would highly recommend Trophy Taker!
Respectfully,
Bearclaw
Review 12 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not For Speed bows
Date:March 10, 2009
Jotun
Location: AZ
I bought this rest for my new APA and found out through slow motion video playback that this rest bounces up after it drops away and hits the bottom. This would not be a problem because it happens so quick but I found that on bows shooting over 320fps it will occasionally cause fletching to contact the prongs on the rebound bounce. On my slower bows it works great.
Review 13 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
Date:February 15, 2009
alaz
Location: Pennsylania
I have had this rest for little more than a week. In that time I had issues with the rope pull sliding up (I corrected this with a nock), the o ring jamming preventing the rest from reaching its full height and the area around the containment ring cracked and now has to be replaced. Trophy taker customer service has been helpful, but this rest has been too much trouble. The rope pull frays quickly because of the containment ring. I shoot everyday and need a rest that requires less maintenance. On the positive side, when it works, it is quiet and quick.
Review 14 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Rest
Date:February 13, 2009
jsarcher
Location: Seattle WA
This is the best drop away on the market by far!!! I tried a few others like the muzzy, Easy to set up!!! I was ripping vanes in 5 shots at 20 yards ITS THE BEST!!
Review 15 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tropy taker full containment
Date:February 4, 2009
cgnh
Location: NH
This rest is the best that I have seen and used.It is quiet and if you are a tree stand hunter like i am that likes to have the bow on your lap for quick shots you do not have to worry about you arrows position because it will center itself while drawing the bow.This is the second one that I have purchased .
Good luck hunting.
Review 16 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is awesome
Date:November 30, 2008
tobinaward
Location: league city , tx
I used to have the whole whisker biscut thing and my bow was loud! and some what slow. I put this rest on there and it was day and night its alot quiter than the whisker biscut and my bow is way faster now.
Review 17 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trophy taker arrow rest
Date:November 28, 2008
Samssssss
Location: Oregon
nice and quite and very sturdy. easy to setup as well. didn't take many adjustments either. didn't give it a 5 becuase nothing is perfect.
Review 18 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trophy taker Xtreme
Date:September 22, 2008
maxwell1419
Location: glenville, WV
i love it wish they would have made one years ago...Money well spent...
Review 19 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bad Agent
Date:August 25, 2008
Yessir
Location: Tulsa, OK
This rest is incredible. A huge step up from the Shakey Hunter, which has been my bread, butter & backstrap for 4 years. I love that it comes with silencing material pre-installed as well. This is probably the finest rest on the market today for whatever you hunt.
Review 20 for Trophy Taker X-Treme FC Top Slot Rest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than most
Date:August 9, 2008
idahobowhntr
Location: MHAFB ID
I have been through quite a few rests in the recent past. i am pretty sure i have now found a winner. the only problem i have is the rubber pad the arrow rest slaps down on is glued down with some sort of adhesive that doesnt hold up to the high desert temps.(it is melting all over the place)
1 2 next>>