Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope

Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Review 1 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great semi
Date:July 24, 2014
Moose68
Location: Ontario,Canada
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
This is one of the best semi 22 rifles I have seen. Got it for my oldest son for a first rifle. The quality and feel of this is awesome. We fired over 1000 rounds through this without a single jam. Took the scope off and used the iron sights as a preference and is dead on out of the box.
Review 2 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Model 60
Date:June 23, 2014
Pete
Location: Long Reach, NB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I have recently purchased a model 60 and have to say it is by far the most accurate gun I have ever fired. simple design nice stock compared to others in the same class. last shot hold open is nice also. I put a 4x scope on it and can pretty much fire them all down the same hole from 75yds.
Review 3 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can keep your Ruger!
Date:September 8, 2013
BrianD
Location: Cambridge, NS
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I love this rifle. I got this rifle for my wedding/Christmas gift in 2011. I have had nothing bu good luck so far. Good size for me, and very light. Easy to take down and clean. The one weakness of this rifle is the factory open sights. However a cheap red dot or scope is all you need. Doesnt seem to like winchester ammo, but fires fine on federal. Wouldnt trade for the world!
Review 4 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Gun for Great Price!!
Date:May 16, 2013
Mark
Location: Peel, NB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Brought this gun in December for some target shooting & small var mitts works great, never jammed yet fired couple hundred shots. the stock feels good not cheap. Very happy with my purchase.
Review 5 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marlin 60
Date:March 23, 2013
colonel3006
Location: Ayton, ON
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I just picked up a marlin 60 and absolutely love it.After sighting in the simmons 22 mag scope which I also ordered from cabelas,at 50 yds I was tearing a dime sized hole out of target with 10 shots.After 150 shots no misfires or jams.I then shot 5 shots at a 2 Inch nail which is nailed into my backboard and grazed it 3 times.Best 22 I have ever owned.
Review 6 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not a good gun...at all
Date:January 21, 2013
mike
Location: Pictou, NS
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
worst gun i ever owned, would not recommend to ANYONE. ordered it, sent it back within the 30 days, it just would not work. tried 4 different ammo's, from different makers. they sent me another one and now its the very same.
Review 7 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Superb rifle
Date:June 21, 2012
Joe D.
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I started with Cooeys, then went on to Winchesters, Rugers, Remingtons, and eventually came to the Marlin. I no longer need to try out another .22LR firearm, because this one is the winner. I can put a full 14-round magazine through one hole at 25 yards with peep sights, and keep the groups at less than 2" out to 50. When I mount a scope, those far groups get much, much better, though I' am so happy with the peeps I don't feel the need to.
These rifles can be a bit finicky over what they are fed; My Marlin 60 simply does not like Winchester ammunition; they jam and misfire regularly, but it will eat Federals with no issues and deliver laser accuracy with CCIs.
My only complaint would be the factory stock; they are functional but are a bit small. I solved the issue by mounting this gun on a Boyd's custom thumbhole. This is now a rifle I wouldn't sell for ten times what I paid for it, and I'd pit it against a Ruger 10/22 any day of the week.
Also; once you use a tube mag, you will never want to go back to a box mag.
Review 8 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really disappointed - Keep away from this junk
Date:April 24, 2012
savageloki
Location: Beaumont, QC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I am really disappointed by this product, I have ordered 2 of them, one for a friend and one for me.
Both of them don't work anymore.
The fisrt one stopped to fire after just an afternoon of use and the second one after 4 months of light use.
Only standard 22LR cartridges have been used, as recommanded by the manufacturer.
The warranty is just a big joke, it's been 3 month since the first one has been dropped for repair and still no news...
I think that I'll pay a gunsmith to repair the second one to be able to resell this piece of junk.
Just spend a little more bucks into a reliable rifle.
Review 9 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Firearm At A Great Price
Date:December 3, 2011
JayCee69
Location: Nelson, BC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
it would have gotten five stars if not for the scope. very cheap. the gun however is a different story. shot over 150 shots with only one dud. and that was my Winchester 333 ammo not the gun.Fired consistently even in the -6C weather i was out in. ejects shells pretty far for a 22. Very accurate and well exceeded my expectations. it says that it will hold 14, but with my bolt closed it will hold 15. the synthetic stock is comfortable and the pre mounted metal sling studs are a bonus. A Great value.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Marlin Model 60SN Semi-Auto Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Firearm
Date:September 8, 2011
T&J
Location: Glassville, NB
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
This firearm is Awesome. Shoots great and handles great as well. Its Light weight, and is awesome to add to your collection.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.