Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Review 1 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good old dependable
Date:April 8, 2014
Me
Location: Borden, ON
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
If you want a dependable simple shotgun for a good price this is it. I have had it for about 2 years and put a lot of different ammo (1000+) through it with NO problems. The only draw back with this gun is that you cannot put a mag extender on because of the way the barrel is attached (5 total). Up side, some cool after market add on stuff. Overall worth the money.
Review 2 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent gun
Date:March 6, 2014
tommygun
Location: Beaver Bank, NS
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I had this gun two years so far no problem .I bought a new mossberg 500 in 1983 put thousands of rounds through it still woks perfectly.
Review 3 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you only need 1 shotgun...
Date:April 16, 2013
TheDeepFreese
Location: Whitehorse, YT
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
This is it! I've had this shotgun now for 6 years and it has been amazing! I am fairly hard on equipment and this gun has taken it all in stride and performed every time! I've used it on small game (grouse, squirrels, etc.#, larger game birds #ducks and geese# up to larger varmints #coyotes, porcupines, etc.# and it has been more than enough gun to work for any situation. With some practice, you can easily figure out spread patterns and although no master of shooting, I've been able to pull off headshots on grouse #with no damage to breasts!# at ranges between 25-45 yards! Only ever had 1 jam on ejection but that was due to a dirty shell and a very quick re-load. I added the top folding stock by ATI #a 5 mintue job with an Allen wrench# which makes it easier for loading in and out of the truck #especially with the long barrel). All and all, one of the best guns one is likely to find!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't lose for the price.
Date:April 1, 2013
Axle1001
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
A lot of my friends were telling me not to waste my money on the Mossberg 500 combo, but after a lot of research I decided to go for it and I am glad I did. A buddy and I took this shotgun to the range right after I bought it and pumped about 150 rounds through it as we butchered a box of clays. As a Rem 870 owner my friend was pretty apprehensive about the Mossbergs in general, however after he put about 5 rounds through it he became a believer. This shotgun is awesome, the action is smooth and it is exactly what it is marketed as: A bare bones workhorse. Coming with two barrels is excellent and grants you the versatility of carrying it on a hunt for safety, or heading out to take on some birds. The barrels are really easy to change and after a little practice you can swap them out in about 30 seconds, certainly under a min. No accuracy issues out of the box we had no trouble hitting clays at 50-85 yards with the 28" barrel, I'm not a shotgun wizard I'm sure there are people who can fire effectively at longer ranges. All in all this shotgun is awesome for the very low price and you simply cannot miss. If you're looking for a versatile workhorse of a shotgun then look no further, you should pick one of these up.
Review 5 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased with this shotgun
Date:March 11, 2013
scanny
Location: Mississauga, ON
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
The package was delivered very fast. Ordered it on Thursday and got it the following Monday. The shotgun itself is exactly as described - shotgun, 2 barrels, manual and a Mossberg lock - no surprises there. This is my first shotgun, initially It looked to me cheaply made comparing to military rifles I used in the past and I wasn't sure how it would perform. A little play on the forend, hollow buttstock, plastic trigger guard looked unusual for me, but I expected something like this from $320 gun. But after a trap shooting session yesterday where I put 100 shells through the Mossberg 500 I really liked the gun. Actually I was doing better on trap range with it then before with borrowed O/U which was twice more expensive. Mossberg 500 is light, action works well, it shoots straight, shells were extracting without any issues. I was expecting bigger recoil but from 2 3/4" shell 7 1/2 load recoil is not bad at all. Still have to try slughs and 3" 00 buckshot with 18.5' barrel though. The shotgun is easy to clean and after I spent some time figuring how to took it apart and put back together I'm pretty comfortable with the process. So I'm very happy with the purchase.
Review 6 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent gun, would buy another one.
Date:January 30, 2013
Adam325i
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
Bought this for myself for Christmas. Love it! Great quality. Gun now has over 300 rounds through it. Defiantly a working mans gun, throw it around, try to kill it and it will ask for somemore. Price is great. Would be nice if the 28" barrel was a screw in choke. Parts are available anywhere, so im not worried about breaking it. I want this gun in 20 gauge now too.
Review 7 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome shotgun
Date:August 12, 2012
Anonymous
Location: Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I have had this shotgun for a year and have had no problems whatsoever, shoots great with all types of shot and slug, would highly recommend
Review 8 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fully disappointed
Date:July 1, 2012
alek
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
got one , sent in back because of curved vented ramp
got second one - 28" barrel shots far to the right
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy for the price - great gun!
Date:June 8, 2012
SirShotAlot
Location: Surrey, BC
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is the second Mossberg 500 I own. The first, a 20 gauge that I purchased for my daughter and as a spare for when I take someone to the range. She loves it and now doesn't want anyone else shooting it. I was so impressed with hers that I didn't hesitate purchasing another one. No issues what so ever. Also purchased the ATI upgrade kit. Not only does it turn every head at the trap range but you hardly feel the recoil.
Draw Backs
The fixed modified choke - For bird hunting it would be a close second choice for me. For trap and skeet I like a full choke. (If you've done the easy, go for the hard.) But yes, a skeet choke would be nice. It's a logical compromise.
Forend is a little sloppy but not an issue.
If you are looking for a great starter or second gun that is versatile, this could be it and you just can't beat the price. And the accessories you can get for this gun are limitless.
I will definitely be taking this gun and 18.5 barrel with me as a defense gun when I go deer hunting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks slick and feels great.
Date:March 18, 2012
BC Turkey
Location: Prince George, BC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I just bought one of these on my brother's advice. This is an excellent shotgun at an even better price. The barrels swap out very easily with no effort at all and the shotgun feels great in the shoulder. I would recommend one of these as an excellent "go-to work gun" any day.
Review 11 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy.
Date:February 20, 2012
Coldnap
Location: Oromocto, NB
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I used the Mossberg 500 for 4 years as a do everything gun, the only reason I sold it was to upgrade. The 500 never failed once, and if anyone ever asks about one I'll tell them to buy it in a heartbeat.
Review 12 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lotsa bang for your buck...
Date:December 21, 2011
bearbait
Location: Canoe Narrows, SK
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Right out of the box, this lil shotgun has performed flawlessly, with both barrels. Has a lil kick because its a light gun, but it is great for those long walks. Did not have any issues with 2 2/3 or 3 inch shells, and I've used over 50 boxes of shot in the 28 in and over 500 slug or 00 buckshot in the 18 1/2 in. barrel, since i picked up this shotgun in the spring of 2011...
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome gun
Date:December 14, 2011
speed3mon
Location: New Westminster, BC
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
This gun is awesome. Right out of the box it was a dream. Took it to the range and put 50 3" slugs through it to loosen it up. The action is perfect. Took it out in the bush and got it all muddy and wet and It didn't even notice. For the price of tax on a benelli, it's the best shotgun you can get. Withstands more rigorous military tests than any other shotgun, why wouldn't you buy this beast?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 Ga. Great for the price!
Date:October 1, 2011
TCMerc
Location: Huron Park, ON
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
Exactly what i expected for $340 shipped! The action was a bit stiff at first but functions fine after running 75 rounds through it. I've only had it out once and its a great gun for the $. I did not bench it but is quite accurate with slugs, and lots of fun with field n range loads. Barrels change out in seconds which is great, The only improvement I'm planning on doing is throwing a Truglo or HiViz on it instead of the regular bead. I recommend it to any one who wants a VERY affordable, easy to maintain, quality 12 Ga. Hope this helps!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg 500 Combo 3'' 12-Gauge Pump Shotgun
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big bang for the buck
Date:May 13, 2011
Redneck
Location: Atikokan, ON
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
This gun performs perfectly. 3 boxes of shells smoothed it up easily. Handles whatever you feed it, 3" 2.75" even some 2.5" loads I made with roll crimps. Fixed MOD barrel throws decent patterns with steel duck loads. The short barrel is good for what it was intended for. Short range bear protection etc. The only drawback is that the gun is light and heavy 3" loads will rock you a bit. Buy one you can't beat the value. oh ya the sythetic stock has checkering that actually aids in gripping the shotgun.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.