Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock

Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Review 1 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New life to an old rifle .
Date:October 22, 2012
SSF Vet
Location: Gibbons, AB
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
Got this Hogue Overmoulded Stock this past weekend . Very easy to install . The instructions included were clear and easy to follow . Have to use the factory forearm liner . Installed in less than 5 minutes , installed a sling swivel stud on the forestock for a bipod , comes with one sling swivel stud at the butt . The rubber skin overmoulded the fiberglass shell feels great . I know it won't slip out of my hands when it gets wet . Great improvement from the factory wood stock . Looks great with the Choate ventilated handgaurd . Don't know if the action will spend more time in the Hogue or ATI stock , time will tell .
Review 2 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect fit
Date:March 30, 2011
PeteCNY
Location: Port Byron, NY
Gender: Male
It was installed in no time at all. Nice snug fit. Surface is very grippy. Better than the wood stock. I know people say it gives you a longer length of pull, but, it was no different on mine. I was kind of hoping it were true. Maybe the newer Mini 14's were longer to begin with. I'll have to take it to the range and see how it handles there.
Review 3 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality stock
Date:January 23, 2011
Bulletsnbows
Location: Cypress, Ca
Gender: Male
The stock has a nice feel and provides a good grip. The only issue I had and continue to have is the small retainer pin for the heat shield broke off so it doesn't hold the shield in place while assembling and disassembling for cleaning. Not a big problem but for a quality stock maker like Hogue I'm surprised they would engineer a nice product and not pay closer attention to the details.
Review 4 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent stock
Date:October 7, 2009
rpw55
Location: Central Coast, CA
I replaced a wood stock on a 580 series blue ranch rifle with this. It was simple to do and the fit was perfect. I find this synthetic stock preferable to wood in wet weather.
Review 5 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mini 14 580 series-.223
Date:August 3, 2009
10awg
Location: Modesto, Calif
This stock is a very nicel fitting addition to any mini- Im not sure if the stock is stiffer but i now shoot 2 inch MOA @ 100 with it. It has a nice (wont slip) rubberized feel. It seems to snug down tightly which is good when the trigger gaurd is snapped shut. Im going to get one for my 10/22 next. When putting the aluminum slide guide for action back into new stock make sure the tab on end nearest to bolt is over that lip, otherwise the saftey seems to stick as well as the bolt when charged.Youll see its easy.
Review 6 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unlucky, I guess
Date:July 31, 2009
TCKIII
Location: North Carolina
My experience with this product was not good. Considering how much others rave over it I guess I just got a bad stock.
It would not come close to fitting. Myself and 2 others spent nearly 4 hours trying to get the stock onto the mini14. It simply would not fit due to bad molding on the interior and rubber overmolding on the top rails that was so thick nothing would fit.
After using a dremel tool to remove material on the inside and a belt sander to take down the rubber on the rails, we finally got it to mount to the mini14. Even then it was still extremely tight and required 2 people to force things together. I didn't like that tight of a fit or having to bend/force the stock to get it on.
I did call Hogue and they acted like they didn't believe me. Ended up tossing the stock in the trash. Like I said, this may not be indicative of their stocks, I may have simply gotten a bad one and may try another at a later date.
Review 7 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hogue OverMolded Mini-14 Stock
Date:May 19, 2009
realdeal5757
Location: Grand Bay, AL
fast shipment of the product and also very pleased with this Hogue OverMolded Stock for my Mini-14. Easy application.
Review 8 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Stock
Date:February 10, 2009
northerncalHunter
Location: Nor Cal
nice drop in fit nice feel great
Review 9 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hogue Stock Looks Great
Date:January 27, 2009
ForMySon
Fits like a glove
Review 10 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pinky
Date:December 23, 2008
pinky12
Location: Portland Oregon
This stock I would rec. to anyone, it went togeather with no proublem at all, it is so much better than wood.
Review 11 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HogueStocks
Date:May 31, 2008
Mini14owner
I bought this for my mini-14 and have this installed on it for over 2 years now. I love the durability of it and how comfortable it is when i shoot. The grips are great and i like the material the stock its made out of. Great buy, worth the money.
Review 12 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superior Product
Date:March 10, 2008
ArnoldIII
Location: Minnesota & Vermont
This product delivered everything I could have hoped for. You can see and feel the quality as you take it out of it's package. It fits like a glove, feels far better than the "stock" stock, looks great, and installation is a snap. I would recommend this product to anyone without any hesitation.
Review 13 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only way to go!
Date:January 14, 2008
boppo1
Location: Utah
This stock is many times better than the original stock that comes with the stainless Mini 14. It is about 1 inch longer, which makes it easier to handle. It is made of an improved material which makes it less slippery. Throw away your old stock and improve the performance of your mini 14 with this one!
Review 14 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hogue Overmolded Stock for Ruger Mini-30
Date:November 8, 2007
Stik
Location: Castle Rock, CO
The instructions included with the stock were clear, simple, and easy to follow. Making the switch from the factory stock to the replacement stock was trouble free. The fit is as good as if it came from Ruger itself.
I never liked the plain looking birch stock on my stainless Mini-30. Length-of-pull was too short, and the stock comb was rather square in cross-section. In contrast, the Hogue stock has adequate length-of-pull, the comb has a nice rounded cross-section like you would see on a good bolt action stock, and the black rubber surface contrasts nicely with the stainless steel metal finish. The somewhat "tacky" suface of the rubber also adds a nice feel. The stock functioned perfectly when the rifle was fired at the range.
Overall, a great enhancement to any Ruger Mini-30 or Mini-14.
Review 15 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drop in stock
Date:October 25, 2007
roman1
Location: St Louis area
I bought this stock after much research, I even called the Hogue company to make sure it would fit with my guns serial number. After installing it I couldn't be more pleased ! You can get a great grip on the stock with no slipping like the wood stock. I highly recommend this stock to anyone looking to upgrade their mini-14.
Review 16 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Decent stock
Date:October 20, 2007
Ardent1
Good solid stock, certainly wont break or slip, lightweight (this surprised me a bit, it's very very light). Only thing that keeps me from giving it 4 out of 5 stars is it's a tiny bit sloppy, a bit more movement of the barreled action at the fore end than I'd like to see. For a plinker or hunter, it's nearly ideal, but I'm putting it on my Mini-14 Target and would like a little less play.
Review 17 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hogue Mini 14 stock
Date:October 9, 2007
broudebu
Location: Hatch, Utah
Easy drop in fit. Increases length of pull approx. 1". Much better than original Ruger wood stock.
Review 18 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hogue OverMolded
Date:January 20, 2007
Olson
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
This stock is easy to install, feels great, and is very light. It adds approx 3/4" to the stock length and shoulders very nice. I can't wait to get one for my Mini 30 now. I highly recommend this product for anyone how loves there Ruger Mini 14/30.
Review 19 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MINI 14 STOCK
Date:November 20, 2006
RUSTICBOB
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE MOUNTAINS
A GREAT IMPROVEMENT OVER THE FACTORY BIRCH STOCK.SUPER DURABLE AND EASY TO HOLD WHEN YOUR HANDS ARE COLD OR WET. BETTER THAN THE SYNTHETIC STOCKS ON THE NEW RUGERS
Review 20 for Hogue Ruger Mini 14/30 Ranch Rifle Stock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mini 14 Stock
Date:November 20, 2006
MtMaverick
Location: Arizona
Outstanding product. Have better control using this stock over the orginal stock. I injuried my arm working in law enforcement and this stock is much easier to hold and control.