Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

PPU Centerfire Ammunition

Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
15
72 out of 93(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Review 1 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff for reasonable price.
Date:July 16, 2013
Borsh
Good stuff for reasonable price.
Review 2 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice choice for rifle ammo
Date:July 16, 2013
Amflyer
Gender: Male
High quality ammunition. Brass is great for reloading and ammo is accurate and clean. I have not run the 8X57 over a chrono yet, but based on recoil and trajectory (My M48 shoots POI with rear sight set on "400") it may be loaded to lower pressure. But, for my intended use of this rifle, I do not consider this to be a problem.
Review 3 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meh...3/20 got stuck in bolt rifle
Date:July 8, 2013
DudeSC
Gender: Male
I bought a box of this stuff looking to find a cheap brand to use for range time with my savage axis 270. I've shot just about everything through it but this stuff is the only brand that kept getting stuck in the barrel after firing. I'm pretty sure the shell casing size was off. Gave two stars because every round did fire so that was nice. It did smell much worse than other rounds so I suspect it isn't good for your gun.
Review 4 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not properly sized
Date:July 4, 2013
khanguyen
Gender: Male
I bought 100 rounds 168gr for my Remmy 700 sps tactical aac-sd. the rounds appear to be a bit bigger than my Federal Power-Shok and Match cartridges, so the PPU chambers very tight.
I threw in 4 rounds and tried to chamber the 5th, it was a tight. I thought something was wrong and gave the bolt a slight push to lock it. It didn't lock and the cartridge had a cut on the neck. Feeding it single rounds seems to be less tight, but it's not smooth at all. I'm sticking to Federal, Winchester, and Remington.
Review 5 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not that good
Date:July 3, 2013
pancaker
Gender: Male
this ammo is not something that i would wont to use in a gun that i thought verry much about. but like the say you get what you pay for. spend a little moore money and get some better ammo.
Review 6 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not happy with the PPU .308 I received
Date:July 2, 2013
flatstime
Gender: Male
I gave this purchase an overall rating of 3 stars because Cabelas has always been good to me and their service is great, but I'm not happy with the product I received, or the apparent lack of quality control my purchased product received.
Unfortunately the cartridge case's trimming was really bad. In my 40 years of shooting I've never seen or purchased ammo anywhere, (new or reloaded) where the case trimming looked so shoddy, rough, and ragged. Because of that I haven't fired any of it yet. I'm reluctant to.
My expert reloading buddies tell me it should fire okay, but I should expect brass fragments left in the barrel, and I should clean the barrel after every few shots to protect it from possible damage. I think that's good advice, so I thought I'd share it.
I'm not an ammo reloader, but now I'm thinking of becoming one. 99% of the time I buy new ammo, and I never buy reloads unless I know the reloader. Because of the low quality case trimming of this product I feel like I've ended up with bad reloaded ammo.
One thing's for sure, now I don't trust this manufacturer's ammo sight unseen, and the next time I buy new factory ammo online I'll choose only top of the line American name-brand products, which is what I usually do anyway.
If I had a close-up lens for my camera I'd include a photo, but I don't, so any photo I'd include would be so blurry you couldn't clearly see the extent of case's poor workmanship.
The bottom line is I expected better, but because this is the first time in many years of buying from Cabelas that I'm not happy with the product I received I'll give them the benefit of the doubt.
Review 7 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7.62X39 SP
Date:July 2, 2013
SCAGNETTI
Gender: Male
Runs 100% in my older 189 series mini 30. Great for plinking and hitting steel gongs at 100yds. Only thing you have to do is dont load mags to full capacity, leave one out or first round will drag on feed ramp. But i have had to do this with other rifles using soft points as well. Only 5 rd mags work well at full capacity. Never had any misfires or any other failure due to this ammo. Cycles well and is accurate.
Review 8 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent, affordable ammo
Date:June 18, 2013
Heywood7
I quickly ran 40 rounds of this ammo through my AR15. I was just plinking, so I can't speak to the accuracy of the round. Everything fed properly. Little dirty, but you get what you pay for. Overall, a perfectly adequate round for someone on a budget.
Review 9 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good ammo
Date:June 18, 2013
RLS17
Works as expected.
Review 10 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast Clean Ammo
Date:June 18, 2013
devilboy
Gender: Male
Heavier than the 55 gr target ammo, I have used this at 100 yds plus for reaching out and touching distant targets. Flies straight and true... highly recommended.
Review 11 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good enough for the price
Date:June 17, 2013
Anonymous
Gender: Male
Used on: Ruger American .308
Pretty accurate at 100 yards (never went farther). Burns clean as any factory ammo. Does the job and cheapest one available around here.
Though it makes the bolt on my Ruger American .308 lock tighter. A little tick that bothered me less and less when I thought about how much I paid for them.
Review 12 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good clean ammo
Date:June 15, 2013
cooksta
Gender: Male
good shooting ammo at a great price. I got round nose soft points did not load well in my AK cause the much shorter projectile lets the shell rise / tip higher due to the 'missing' part of a round nose not getting into the chamber at first to guide it in as the bolt goes forward, but shot great and accurate in an SKS with no load problems, clean burning ammo compared to Winchester
Will get FMJ's of these for the AK
Review 13 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
7.62x39
Date:May 29, 2013
Stewbait
Gender: Female
Ammo Is not reloadable , it doesn't state that on box. Ammo jammed in my firearm also . I will be sticking with the herters steel ammo cabelas carrys , it costs less and works better
Review 14 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ammo for 375H&H mag.
Date:May 21, 2013
oco1984
Gender: Male
the ppu ammo is just as good as the high priced ammo
Now if you could get the ppu ammo in a 270grain that would be great, and I could have something other than 300grain at a reasonable price!!!! also this is the best price I have ever seen on this type of ammo, thank you.
Review 15 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PPU is Solid Ammo
Date:May 21, 2013
blackrobe
Gender: Male
Recently used my .270 Winchester ammo by PPU and it did not let me down. Groups fabulously and hits the mark, not to mention the price is fantastic. I will definitely be purchasing more of this well made .270.
Review 16 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
Date:April 23, 2013
dingusdan
Gender: Male
No misfires, very accurate.
Review 17 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great ammo
Date:April 6, 2013
thumper4957
Gender: Male
I shot both 30 30 an 270 my grand daughter droped a spike last nov. at 107 yrds. with H&R single shot 270 150 grain, good ammo great price an no doubt it does the job. will be buying more
Review 18 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price
Date:April 2, 2013
themull
Gender: Male
Will be using these for deer season. Great ammo.
Review 19 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PPU 7.62x54r
Date:March 26, 2013
baccidog
Gender: Male
excellent ammo. pretty clean and accurate. And I ike the brass case and non crossive
Review 20 for PPU Centerfire Ammunition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the reloader you cant beat it!
Date:March 26, 2013
kingmuzz
Gender: Male
Great buy! I buy this stuff when I need more brass for reloading, its barely more than new brass, plus you can shoot it! Great quality. A+
1 2 3 4 5 next>>