Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Remington 1911 R1 Pistol

Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Review 1 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Gun, Great Price
Date:April 20, 2013
DBlancha
I bought the R1 Enhanced 2 months ago, fired a few hundred rounds through it and have had nothing but awesome experiences with it....hands down the best handgun I've ever shot. I'd recommend this gun to anyone.
Review 2 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ol' Reliable!
Date:April 17, 2013
FirelockSparks
Gender: Male
I have only shot this on one trip to the range, but I love it! Accurate and with all the reliability I expect from a 1911. Lots of fun to shoot. My wife even loves shooting it, and today was the first time she ever shot a handgun.
Review 3 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1911 Remington R1 .45
Date:March 21, 2013
TankVet
Gender: Male
I went to Cabela's to buy a gun for my wife- and, I must admit, for myself also. I carried a .45 in a shoulder holster for years when I was a tanker in the Army so naturally I started looking at the .45's - everything from a Sig to a Kimber.
The 2nd one I picked up was the Remington R1. I looked at 4 others and came back to the Remington everytime. I finally told the gun guy not to go any further - I found my gun. No doubts - no questions - the Remington felt comfortable in my hand where the others did not. Best gun I ever owned - I'm as happy as a pig in mud every time I pick it up.
Yes - I did buy my wife a gun too.
Review 4 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunstig
Date:March 12, 2013
gbkenion
Gender: Male
That is the Gernan word for good quality at a good price. I put a couple hundred rounds through on my first range trip with my new R1 - tight groups, no issues shooting 3 brands of ammo. Goes bang very time you pull the trigger, and is nice to look at also. Very comfortable to shoot. I will never buy another plastic 45, I am fully satisfied with my first 1911. I got the blued version, stainless is a little too bling for me.
Well done, Remington.
Review 5 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun, great deal
Date:January 19, 2013
Axerby
Gender: Male
I have been wanting a 1911 for a while and thought I would check out the new Ruger that is selling like hotcakes. Unfortunately, because it is selling like hotcakes it is hard to find. My friend showed me an add for the Remington which is in the same ballpark. After handling the enhanced version at the store, I was convinced. A few days later I took it to the range and was exceedingly pleased with the result. When taking my time I was able to put 50 rounds through one 1.5 inch hole. I also tried rapid fire and was able to print a 4 inch group with another 25 rounds.
Review 6 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remington 1911
Date:December 4, 2012
Trapblaster
Gender: Male
I have had mine for 5 months. I have fired about 700 rounds with it without any issues. I would consider the workmanship to be excellent. Its tight yet operates smoothly. great fit and finish. Affordable and a good value.I would definitely recommend this gun.
Review 7 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remington 1911 R1
Date:November 16, 2012
MrBigBore
Gender: Male
I've owned other 1911s but I really like this one. From the look to every function this gun seems to be flawless. Not one complaint. Has fed every shell I've tried FMJ and HP without a single problem. If you're in the market for a 1911 this is the one you want.
Review 8 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 years and still the best
Date:August 1, 2012
Reesol
Gender: Male
i love my 1911 this by far is the best handgun i have ever used with the .45 it carries quite a punch but also has amazing accuracy the gun is extremely easy to use has fantastic sights and can be field stripped/cleaned in a flash. even at over 100 years it can still outshoot even the most popular and flashy gun out there.
Review 9 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bang for the buck
Date:May 16, 2012
Idahotopshot
Great price, smooth action, out of the box accurate. The best hand gun purchase I've made this year.
Review 10 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Notch 1911 Model Handgun from Remington
Date:January 27, 2012
Thmprr
Location: Snohomish Wa.
Gender: Male
I was looking for a GI style 1911 made by one of the original manufacturers from WW-1 and stumbled upon the Remington 1911r1. Remington did an outstanding job with this handgun with a few modern updates and precision machine work. It is tight and smooth with craftsmanship closer to those of other 1911s costing two to three times as much. I prefer GI style instead of 1911s with all the “flash” or "Bling". The only update I did was by adding the cherry wood checkered grips with the “R” medallion. It has already been said to be a great looking 1911 at the range by others. The blued finish is top notch and grips are high quality.
Took it to the range and was very impressed with the action, trigger pull and factory 3-dot sights dialed in dead on to the target at 25-40 yards. No FTF or FTE. It was a joy to fire. This surpassed all expectations for a 1911 in this price range by far. If you purchase this 1911 you will not be sorry. I plan to keep it for a long time and carry it out in the woods and high ranges for protection and feel that I can count on this one with no worries.
Semper Fi
Review 11 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smooth and sweet
Date:December 12, 2011
mvay
Location: Onsted, Mi
Gender: Male
This is by far the nicesest hand gun I've ever owned. I have shot the old colts in the military ( partial to the 1911 for this reason# and the improvements on this modle is awsome. The triger pull is smooth and steady.Rear and front sights are on at 30 yards with a 230gr bullet # 2 in. group in the first 28 rounds). The weapon fits like a glove in a larger hand. My daughter even likes the way it fits her hands, after some instruction on how to hold and shoot it. This is one hand gun that I wont give up.Glad as fuzz on a peach I am.
Review 12 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent 1911
Date:November 3, 2011
Redwings9
Location: NJ
Gender: Male
Bought mine approx 3 weeks ago and round count is up to 600 rounds with nary a hiccup. For the money this is the best 1911 I have come acrossed. Shoots on par with my Kimber and Springfield both of which have had custom work.
Was waiting for the Ruger to come in but handled this and glad I did not hesitate.
Review 13 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remington 1911R1 is an A1 45
Date:June 19, 2011
OleEd
Location: MO
Gender: Male
I carried a 45 in the Marines (Nam and afterwards) and fell in love with it. I finally decided to buy this 1911R1 after 3 months of researching, handling and shooting several friend's 45s. This 1911R1 most closely relates to what I remember I carried and most especially in the feel. I have put over 1000 rds from factory loads to my reloads of 185 and 200g JHP, 230g LRN, 200g LSWC and LRNF. Only jams to date were my reloading errors.
This pistol is just a pleasure to shoot. The trigger was a bit rough at first but has worked itself into a smooth pull. Took to a well known area armorer for a check up after 500 +/- rounds. Nice to hear that I had a real nice pistol that is tighter than other brands he has worked on. Still fire buddies but I happily go back to this 45. Bottom line, I'm lucky, I have a darn good 45 hand gun and not looking to buy another.
Review 14 for Remington 1911 R1 Pistol
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SASS Wild Bunch
Date:April 7, 2011
BadgerRed
Location: Waupaca, Wisconsin
Looking to shoot in the Wild Bunch category of SASS. Simple easy to hold and shoot. I even shoot 200gr SWC lead bullets with no problem. The trigger pull is my only complaint. Takes a little longer pull before it breaks compared to others.