Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle

Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
10 out of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Review 1 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK rifle
Date:March 28, 2013
Frisco06
Gender: Male
I am a bit disappointed in this rifle. I have wanted one in .30-06 since I can remember. It's a good, sturdy piece of hardware. But I cannot shoot anything less than 150gr in Hornady Superformance or the spent casing will not eject so obviously the next round is not chambered either. I have tried to use 125 gr reduced recoil rounds because the 150 gr tears a deer up even beyond 100 yards. I end up with a one-shot gun (old M-60 gunner here) when I use the 125. Fortunately I have not needed a follow-up shot. If I had it to do again, I would go with a good bolt-action. You will have no trouble with any of the very wide variety of .30-06 rounds available. I do like the rifle alot so I am going to keep it for mule deer and elk hunting but I will also be buying a bolt-action to use for pretty much anything else.
Review 2 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok but no AR Platform, That's for sure.
Date:March 21, 2013
Tort
Gender: Male
I own the carbine version in .308 with the walnut stuck. Overall it is a fine piece of hardware with good Remington craftsmanship.
After trying a few different scopes, I found it very difficult to sight in and hold tight groups. This gun NEEDS a good scope and good mounts. I put a small picatinny rail on top as well and that did the trick.
I have also had problems with jams. Use good ammo as well and you'll have a gun that holds decent groups out at 100 yards. As a former Marine I have too shot the AR Platform many times, and this is NO AR Platform so one has to keep that in mind. It will give you a good chance for follow up shots and that is about it. Don't expect it to cycle as smooth but It does shoot well when the rifle is maintained properly.
It makes for a great overall hardwoods gun for deer and other big game. It gets the job done so I gave it 4 stars. If you're hunting open country and shooting from ridge to ridge I'd go with a bolt action gun.
Review 3 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst gun buying experience ever. JAMOMATIC !!!
Date:January 28, 2013
Toycruiser84
Bought one in 3006 carbine. Will not extract after firing and sometimes will not feed. Sent it back to Remington it came back still doing the same thing. Tried different ammo tried new magazines nothing worked I ended up returning it for full refund. If your looking for reliability when hunting then look for something else!
Review 4 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
Date:June 24, 2012
nimrod
Location: Gaspe, QC
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
I owned a 7400 for 30 years and decided it was time for a new one .
7400 never jammed once
this one is even better I 've used 0ne box of shells already
to sight in my over under scope it works like a charm
As with all semi auto rifles it has to be maintained,use appropriate ammo,and never use old ammo.
I hoe this will be as trusty as my 7400.
Amateurs should not buy or use auto loaders they require extra diligence .
Recommended ammo Nosler Partition
Review 5 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hit or Miss - Mine Missed
Date:June 19, 2012
MasterSRGNT
Gender: Male
Some people love this gun. Some hate it. I got one in .308 as a welcome home gift from Iraq. It would shoot very accurately, but virtually never functioned properly. I sent it back to Remington twice without any improvement. Frankly when I called the Remington Service Center, I believe they lied. I have had semi-autos since I was since Jr. High. I had M16s in the Army for over 20 years. I know how guns operate, how to shoot, and how to maintain a gun. Mine was junk and Remington would not make it right. I traded up to a bolt action from another company. I lost a lot of respect for Remington mostly because they wouldn't stand behind their gun and their lack of integrity. Like I said, some people love this gun. Some people hate it. It's hit or miss. Mine missed.
Review 6 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rifle
Date:May 9, 2012
MEGO
Location: Regina, SK
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
Got this rifle in 243 any of the problems are from people that don't clean them after every use.All semi-autos must be keep in a clean condition at all times.
Review 7 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jack handle
Date:December 19, 2011
lance
Location: Indian Head, SK
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
piece of junk..i bought this gun in 308 and i am not happy with it at all...it seldomly makes it through a magazine with out stovepiping and the magazine is the most difficult mag to remove on any gun i have ever owned....accuracy is reasonable i guess...i would have hoped to get a better gun for the money i spent...i have a 60 year old sks rifle i bought for 200$ that works everytime and can shoot the pants of this remington..
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
remarkable rifle
Date:December 18, 2010
Anonymous
Location: nova scotia canada
Gender: Male
i used afriends remington 750 very nice gun i use a742 for 25 pluse years remarkable 308 weapon I would highly recomend this rifle to a freind
Review 9 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awsome
Date:September 21, 2010
skier49
I love this gun. it barily kicks, its very acurite its pretty light and it looks cool. i love it!!!!!
Review 10 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable & Accurate
Date:August 10, 2010
AdamF
Location: IN
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle because I always wanted a semi auto 30-06 hunting rifle. I had some reservations about buying the rifle because of some negative reviews about the previous models regarding reliability and accuracy. My rifle is the 22" synthetic and has been 100% reliable. The accuracy stays around one inch at 100 yards give or take depending on the ammunition used. 168gr match is under an inch, but regular hunting loads are just over an inch. I'm using 220gr handloads in this rifle for a bear hunt in Canada and that round functions very well in this rifle. With it being a semi auto it also cuts down on some of the recoil which is nice with modern 30-06 loads.
Buy it, you won't regret it!
Review 11 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun, great results!
Date:January 13, 2010
MrWeller
Location: Redfield, SD
Bought this gun a few years ago after shooting my brother in law's older 742 Woodsmaster. I bought the synthetic stocked 750 and topped it off with a Nikon Monarch with a BDC reticle. This year I took 3 deer with 3 shots. The last two were back to back shots on the last day of the season with just a couple of hours left to hunt. I dropped two nice does at 80 and 100 yards to complete the season. Gun functioned well even in -15 degree wind chills! Thanks Remington for another quality gun - I'll be shooting this one for years to come!
Review 12 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Rifle
Date:December 11, 2009
Jaeger777
Location: Manchester, NH
I'm not sure what the other reviewer's problem was but I have had nothing but great results with my Remington Model 750. It shoots accurately and I have never had any malfunction of any kind. A friend of mine who owns an identical rifle has had equally great results. I'd recommend this rifle in a heartbeat.
Review 13 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another one of Remmy's great firearms.
Date:December 11, 2009
ProHunterUSA
The 750 is the same as all of Remington's fine auto rifles. I currently own a 742, 7400, Model Four and now the 750 in 35 Whelen and in 30 plus years of hunting have never had one single fail to fire or jam. The person that posted the first review more than likey does not know what they are talking about or doesn't own this rifle at all. Or is shooting non recommended ammo or doesn't know the proper way to clean and care for firearms.
The Remington 750 is as always one of Remingtons great firearms!
Buy it and try it! If it doesn't function...
send it back.
Review 14 for Remington Model 750 Woodsmaster Semi-Auto Rifle
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible
Date:November 21, 2009
rathergohunting
This gun is terrible it jams all the time even after sending it back to remington twice. Please save your money and not buy this gun.