Cabela's Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope

Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Review 1 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value proforms well
Date:October 11, 2010
e
Location: Fort Qu'Appelle, SK
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
my new 300 win mag is better than i had hoped. for 400 bucks you can,t loose.use blue locktight on the cheap scope, dial down the stiff trigger and your set. 2'' groups 100 yds hornady factory ammo prone position no shooting bench.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, it's inexpensive....
Date:October 14, 2010
CRSMITH
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
After reading many positive reviews about this package, I decided to pick up one of these in a .270 win.
At first, all was well, but after ~60 rounds, the groups just started falling apart. I was wondering what the heck was going on.
Turns out the stock and scope had both rattled loose. After tightening everything back down, I'm still getting shots all over the place. I'm guessing the scope is pooched because of the vibrations while it was loose.
Time to find out what the warranty is like....
I'm thinking of replacing the trigger too as I measured it as having ~9 lb pull.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
**Great Buy**
Date:November 27, 2010
deere hunter
Location: Onoway, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I have one in 270 cal. for $450 bucks you can't go wrong. I've shot six coyotes and one white tail this year. I upgraded the scope to a nikon coyote special B.D.C for $300. The only problem with the gun was the savage head logo fell off in -25C. I found it and crazy glued it back on..
Review 4 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performs well in all sorts of weather condtions
Date:December 9, 2010
Moose
Location: Oshawa, ON
Age: 56-69
Gender: Male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased this rifle last year I took Deer,Bear,Moose and Caribou with it and performed floor less, it has a smooth action you would expect from a more expensive rifle the trigger works well even though its a little heavy the scope is good even if it is low end value it has a nice stock the only complaint I have is the recoil pad is not very durable feels like gum as a entry level + rifle its value for your money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
southern Ontario coyotes dont stand a chance
Date:January 19, 2011
SO coyote
Location: Forest, ON
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
bought this gun in .243win. like usual i strip the gun down and clean all the packing grease they seem to put i these things. although i ranked this gun high i did have my share of problems. like many other people my scope rings and bases came loose. then the dial on the scope came out while sighting it in. i called Bushnell about warranty and the sent me a new scope.(i paid to upgrade the scope). now that everything is dialed in any coyote walking within 300yrds or so have wished they didn't. all in all good gun a better suggestion would be to buy this gun without the scope and buy yourself a trophy or something a little better.
Review 6 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2011
ddurf
Location: Whitbourne, NL
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I decided to give this rifle a try in the 300 win mag, after owning the same rifle in 30-06 model for past five years. I found both to be of excellent quality, and perorm as well as much more expensive rifles. Had alittle trouble getting the scope to group the shots as tight as I wanted, but did manage to 1" grouping after a box of ammo. Only complaint was the recoil pad, which I 've since replaced.
I've brought down several Moose and a caribou with these rifles and have enjoyed several flawless hunts with these two rifles. Nice smooth actions, little recoil and out of he box accuracy makes this model an exceptional buy for the money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the Money
Date:March 18, 2011
JonDoe
Location: Anola, MB
Age: Under 18
Gender: Male
I bought this gun in 30-06 and I had to tighten the scope mounts but my gun is a nail driver at 100 yards with inexpensive Remington CoreLokt ammo. For $430 it is a great value, I have a friend that has the Edge and he agrees that my gun is a better gun. and it seems like a more reliable gun than Remington's 770
Review 8 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent rifle for the great price.
Date:April 14, 2011
buck attack
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 40-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this rifle in a 243 caliber for my sons and I ended up using it more. I like the weight of the rifle plus it's accuracy and durability. I have taken several deer with this gun at some long distances, the only thing I am thinking of changing is the scope.
Review 9 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great gun for the money
Date:August 29, 2011
msnmtaylor
Location: Bon Accord, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle ~ 9 years ago in the 7mm Rem Mag. I have put many boxes of ammo down range with it and have taken many deer with it. First off, don't buy the scope combo, spend the extra little bit and get even a cheap Bushnell etc... The rifle itself is great though, I am getting very consistent groupings at 100 yards and am looking forward to upgrading my scope to stretch it's legs and see what I distance I can get with it. The rifle stands up to lots of abuse and it's nice and light and ballanced to minimize fatigue.
Review 10 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good good
Date:September 6, 2011
the big hunt
Location: Pinantan Lake, BC
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
i have the 300 win mag
its a grate out of the box gun the scope was all most dead on just two clicks to the left and it was
i never had any problomes with this
if you like power and comfort this is the one for you
Review 11 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great rifle,30-06
Date:October 17, 2011
7mm-08
Location: Corner Brook, NL
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought my Brother this rifle in 30-06 for his high school graduation gift and all I can say is wow. The rifle shoot great even with the cheap 180gr Core Lokt ammo he can get inch groups. He is very happy with his new rifle and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a rifle on a tight budget.
Review 12 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great gun
Date:October 25, 2011
cullen_84
Location: Deer Lake, NL
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
I have not had the chance to shoot an animal this year ..but have about 120 rounds through the rifle.. had to tighten the scope after about 60 rounds..but it is a nail driver ....great rifle.. good buy...
Review 13 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good gun
Date:November 13, 2011
otis780
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 26-39
Gender: Male
Bought this rifle in 30-06 one day before deer hunting to replace rifle in shop. Had no time to zero rifle before trip. Still managed to drop a deer from 220 yards clean. Cant wait to zero this rifle and see what it can really do!
Review 14 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy
Date:December 12, 2011
Reloader
Location: Mackenzie, BC
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I have owned this rifle for 8 years it still has the original scope on it and still holds sub MOA groups out to one hundred yards it has taken many animals in the time i have owned it if you are looking for a starter rifle this is one buy you can't pass up
Review 15 for Savage 11/111 FCXP3 Bolt Action Rifle w/ Scope
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the $$$
Date:December 27, 2011
mrb985
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 18-25
Gender: Male
I picked this up at the beginning of Deer season in .270 Win this year when I was on a budget. Paid just over 400 bucks for it and it was well worth the cash. The 3x9 Bushnell it comes with is an ok scope. I would reccomend a nikon Pro staff with BDC to replace the scope and it would only cost you 180 bucks for it but, if your looking at this gun because it comes with glass like i did then it is fine. Hunted with it for the entire season and got a deer with it, it is light, reliable, and will not kill your wallet. Since, I have moved on to buying a Tikka T3 lite in 30-06 and this one will now become a back up hunting rifle or a spare for a buddy for me now. If you can wait I would say save up and get a Tikka or Sako but it is really up to you about how much you wanna spend, if your absolute limit is 400-600 bucks then this would be a great rifle for you. Another good one to look at would be the Weatherby Vanguard 2. I had no issues with it in the field.